LibGuides: Medical Library: Databases / Websites

Helpful Links

To access library resources off-campus, you need to sign in with your UIW username and password:

After signing in, online access continues until your Web browser session is ended.

More information is available at:

LibKey Nomad Browser Extension
Add this to your browser. LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that enables instant access to articles from journals subscribed to by UIW Libraries and Open-Access sources without the need to start your search from the library website. It provides a direct link to the article's PDF or HTML version. If access to the content is unavailable, LibKey Nomad will redirect you back to UIW Libraries and help you request an Interlibrary Loan.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals, books, and other literature covering biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, and more.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering medical disciplines such as cardiology, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, and multimedia covering anatomy, immunology, internal medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reviews and reports covering child health, genetic disorders, infectious diseases, mental health, public health, and more. Includes clinical answers, protocols, and trials.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Books and guides covering evidence-based medicine, including statistical and study design, interpreting and evaluating literature, probability, populations, findings, standard tests, and more.

LWW Health Library
Books covering anatomy, clinical medicine, epidemiology, histology, neuroscience, osteopathic medicine, pharmacology, physiology, and more.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering a range of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care resource. Overviews, recommendations, and articles covering evidence-based medical research and drug information. Includes graphics, images, and specialty content.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering nursing, public health, diseases, medicine, and related areas. Includes evidence-based care sheets and research instruments.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia covering a range of consumer health topic, including community health, diagnostics and tests, diseases and conditions, drugs, mental health, therapies, treatments, surgeries, and more.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug, disease, and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, patient education, infectious diseases, alternative medicines, and more.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, comparisons, patient education, and more.

Natural Products
Resources covering dietary supplements, herbs, botanicals, and related information.
Toxicology / Hazardous Substances Resources
Additional Databases to use on this topic.

Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding information to support clinical practice/care. Covering systematic reviews, guidelines, primary research, and more.

Databases List
Search databases by title or keyword, filter by subject and/or content type.

UIW PubMed Search
Use the unique UIW PubMed link to see links to UIW Libraries content in PubMed search results. Off-campus users must sign in with their UIW username and password. Find out more at:
PubMed From Off-Campus
PubMed Tutorials

UIWSOM controls access to the UpToDate subscription.

UpToDate Steps (our homemade instructions)
Step by Step instructions for those new to UpToDate or those having issues.
UpToDate SSO Tip Sheet
Instructions from UpToDate's publisher Wolters Kluwer.
UpToDate Instructions to Consolidation your Accounts

Guideline Central
Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. They partner with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition. ONLY HAVE ACCESS TO FREE VERSION.
This includes provider guideline summaries/overviews, patient summaries, calculators, drugs/medications, clinical trials, guideline videos and specialty/topic articles. NO NEED TO REGISTER.