LibGuides: Medical Library: Books / Reference

Helpful Links

Access Online Resources Off-Campus

To access library resources off-campus, you need to sign in with your UIW username and password:

After signing in, online access continues until your Web browser session is ended.

More information is available at:

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources Guide

Medical Book / Reference Resources

Collections of E-books

UIW Libraries have many e-books that may be used 24 hours a day and from remote locations. They are searchable which helps find topics quickly. However, keep in mind that many E-books may only be used by one person at a time. Close the book and the browser when you are finished reading.

Here are some collections of E-books:

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering medical disciplines such as cardiology, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
Clerkship/Clinical Rotations Collection (LWW Health Library) This link opens in a new window
Books and associated content covering family medicine, general reference/exam prep, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, and multimedia covering anatomy, immunology, internal medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
Historic Journals & Osteopathic Books This link opens in a new window
Historic journals and books covering the field of osteopathic medicine and related topics. Journal articles and books are available in PDF format only.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Books and guides covering evidence-based medicine, including statistical and study design, interpreting and evaluating literature, probability, populations, findings, standard tests, and more.

Medical Education Collection (LWW Health Library)
Osteopathic medicine resource for ebooks and associated content covering anatomy, epidemiology, histology, clinical medicine, neuroscience, pathology / pathophysiology, physiology, and related topics. Includes videos, cases, clinical skills content, and more.

MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
Books covering medical school curriculum topics, including anatomy, basic science, clinical sciences, and radiology.

Related Health Sciences Resources

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering pharmacy and related disciplines such as drugs, epidemiology, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, toxicology, and more.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering athletic training, kinesiology, exercise physiology, geriatrics, neuroanatomy, orthopedics, physiology, and more. Also includes study tools, quick answers, and an integrated drug database.

Selected Medical Book Resources

ClinicalKey Internal Medicine E-Books
List of e-books on internal medicine accessible through the ClinicalKey database.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books covering business, environment, history, literature, medicine, religion, social science, and more.

Osteopathic Medicine Collection
Core osteopathic medicine e-books titles available in the LWW Health Library Collection.

SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Books and reference materials covering research tools and methods for use in the social sciences, health sciences, and other disciplines. Includes methods map, reading lists, project planner, and more.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Reference works and core titles covering multiple health sciences disciplines, including nursing, obstetrics, pharmacology, physical therapy, epidemiology, evidence-based healthcare, and more.

Additional Selected Medical and Topical Books
Lists of selected medical and topical titles available online and in print format available in the library.
View All Health Sciences Books / Reference Resources
List of all health sciences book collections, reference resources, and indexes.

Find a Book

NestSearch - UIW Libraries Catalog
Search collections using keyword(s), title, author, or subject.

* Limit to Print Books or Electronic Books under Resource Type on the results page.

Request Items From Other UIW Libraries

Request Books or AV Materials
How to request print books or audiovisual materials for pickup at the Mabee Library.

To Borrow Items UIW Doesn't Own

Interlibrary Loan LibGuide
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain articles that UIW does not subscribe to.
ILLiad Login
Sign in with your usual UIW credentials to access your Interlibrary Loan account.
TexShare Card
The TexShare program allows our patrons to visit other participating libraries and check out materials if they are not available in the UIW library. Our patrons must get their TexShare Card from a librarian at a UIW Library reference desk during regular library hours.