Skip to Main Content

Computer Information Systems: Web Sites

Online Information

Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).

Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.

Some criteria for evaluating web sites include:

  • Accuracy
  • Authority
  • Coverage
  • Currency
  • Objectivity
  • Purpose
  • Support

You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site

Computer Information Systems (General)

ACM A.M. Turing Award

Alan M. TuringSignature of Alan M. Turing
The ACM A.M. Turing Award—also known as the "Nobel Prize in Computing"—is awarded each year by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). First awarded in 1966, it comes with a $1 million prize. The award is named for Dr. Alan M. Turing, a computer science and artificial intelligence pioneer who also played a critical role in cracking Nazi naval codes during WWII (image source:
  • 2022 - Robert Melancton Metcalfe, USA
    For the invention, standardization, and commercialization of Ethernet.
  • 2021 - Dr. Jack Dongarra, USA
    For his pioneering contributions to numerical algorithms and libraries that enabled high performance computational software to keep pace with exponential hardware improvements for over four decades
  • 2020 - Alfred V. Aho, USA, and Jeffrey David Ullman, USA
    For fundamental algorithms and theory underlying programming language implementation and for synthesizing these results and those of others in their highly influential books, which educated generations of computer scientists.
  • 2019 - Edwin E. Catmull, USA, and Patrick M. Hanrahan, USA
    For fundamental contributions to 3D computer graphics, and the impact of computer-generated imagery (CGI) in filmmaking and other applications.
  • 2018 - Yoshua Bengio, Canada, Geoffrey E. Hinton, Canada, and Yann Lecun, USA
    For conceptual and engineering breakthroughs that have made deep neural networks a critical component of computing.
Staff LADR