LibGuides: Biochemistry Resources: Web Sites

Online Information

Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).

Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.

Some criteria for evaluating web sites include:

Accuracy
Authority
Coverage
Currency
Objectivity
Purpose
Support

You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site

Biochemistry Web Sites

AlphaFold Protein Structure Database
This database is, "...an AI system developed by DeepMind that predicts a protein’s 3D structure from its amino acid sequence."
BioCyc Genome Database Collection
BioCyc is "...a collection of 20,039 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them." The EcoCyc and MetaCyc databases are free, but a paid subscription is required for access to the other BioCyc databases.
Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database
The BCMD, "...stores information on protein and nucleic acid crystals that have been reported in the literature or deposited in the Protein Data Bank."
BRENDA: Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
BRENDA is an open collection of enzyme functional data.
Chemistry WebBook (NIST)
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
Metabolic Pathways Map
From: Roche Biochemical Pathways, 4th ed.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Library Digital Archives
This outstanding library collection of NIST chemistry resources covers topics on: chemical characterization of materials, process metrology, chemical and biochemical sensing, nanotechnology, healthcare measurements, environmental measurements, physical property data, chemical and biochemical data, bio-molecules and materials, DNA technologies, and international measurement standards.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
Contains spectra (mass, NMR, and infrared) for over 30,000 compounds. Searchable by compound names, formula, mw, and registry number.

Jennifer Doudna

Jennifer Doudna, ForMemRS (Feb. 19, 1964 - ). American biochemist, awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, shared with Emmanuelle Carpenter of France, "for the development of a method for genome editing." (Image source: wikipedia.org)