LibGuides: Biochemistry Resources: Articles (Databases)

How to Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If an article isn't available in full-text, we might have e-access another way or have it in print.

If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan is a free service.

Books are delivered to the library for pickup.
Scanned images of articles may be delivered to your ILLiad account OR photocopies of articles may be delivered to the library for pickup.

Set up an account using the ILLiad Interlibary Loan link on the library's Web site, using your Blackboard/student e-mail username and password to log in.

Other Search Engines and Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PubChem
Citations
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Biochemistry Databases

Databases are how articles are indexed (it just tells you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of the article). These databases index articles that are related to this subject area.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals covering analytical, applied, biological, materials science and engineering, organic-inorganic, and physical chemistry.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering biological sciences including animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, entomology, and more. Includes MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases.
Gene This link opens in a new window
Resource for gene information covering known and predicted genes, with each record representing a single gene from an organism which can include nomenclature, map, sequence, expression, structure, functional, and homology data. Includes data from all major taxonomic groups.
GenBank This link opens in a new window
Resource for DNA sequences covering publicly-available nucleotide sequences and their protein translations from more than 240,000 named organisms.
MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals covering a range of areas in health and biomedicine, including medicine, nursing, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Chemical information resource for records covering mostly small molecules' chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. A self-paced PubChem tutorial is available.
As of December 2022, ChemIDplus and Drug Information Portal Content are only available through PubChem.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals, books, and other literature covering biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, and more.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering a range of science and technology disciplines, including biology, chemistry, engineering, geology, medicine, physics, toxicology, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering a range of academic disciplines, including humanities, physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and more.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reports, and other content covering biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and others. To register for SciFinder, please click on the Permitted Uses link below.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering a range of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Related Databases

NMRShiftDB
This online NMR database is for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. It also has peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users.
ChemBioFinder
Free database that searches common or chemical name, molecular weight, molecular formula, evaporation rate, structure, or CAS registry number. Information includes melting, boiling and flash points, solubility, vapor density, structure, and more.

Just Starting?

Just beginning your research? Start with these when looking for articles in this subject area.

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering biological sciences including animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, entomology, and more. Includes MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reports, and other content covering biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and others. To register for SciFinder, please click on the Permitted Uses link below.

PubChem

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. A self-paced PubChem tutorial is available.

As of December 2022, ChemIDplus and Drug Information Portal Content are only available through PubChem.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering a range of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.