Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-Based Practice: Home

Guide to resources that support evidence-based practice in healthcare.

Off-Campus Access

  • UIW students, faculty, and staff have access to ALL electronic resources from off-campus.
     
  • When accessing materials via the UIW Libraries' site, you will be prompted to verify that you are a current UIW student, faculty, or staff member by signing in with your UIW username and password:
Cardinal apps login boxes

 

  • After signing in, you will have access to all UIW-only resources and other online content until your Web browser session is ended.
     
  • UIW Libraries online resources may be accessed after signing in to an on-campus computer or device connected to the UIW network without additional user verification.|
     
  • To get help, please contact the UIW Libraries Reference Desk at 210-829-3835, via Library Chat, by text to 210-526-0776, or by email to reference@uiwtx.edu.

     

MSE & Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Dell Davis
Contact:
210.829.6054

Getting Started

The UIW Mabee Library hosts a number of credible resources that were purchased specifically to support Evidence-Based Healthcare.  The library's resources are quite comprensive in this area.  This guide will highlight several databases, books, journal titles, etc. which contain credible peer-reviewed information on evidence based practice and research.

Getting started -

Databases - Databases will allow you to search for articles published on your topic.   Many of the databases that we subscribe to will link you to the full-text of the article.  Choose the "Databases" tab in this guide to obtain a list of those databases used by researchers and practitioners.

Evidence-based ejournals - eJournals can provide you with the most recent information.  Click on the "Evidence-based ejournals" tab to find a link to a brief list of our ejournals in that area as well as a link to our entire ejournal collection.

Books - The UIW Library book collection contains lots of books on evidence-based practice and related subjects.  Our electronic collection of books continues to grow. 

Clinical Trials & Systematic Reviews (EBM Resources) - Finding the best evidence is extremely important in the care of individuals.  There are several resources which allow practitioners to locate evidence-based information in the form of original research, clinical trials and systematic reviews.  You will find a few of these resources listed under the EBM Resources (Evidence-based medicine) tab.

Websites - This guide contains several websites that are frequented by researchers.  This is just a starting point as these websites and the associations hosting them will have many more valuable links.  Remember, you are responsible for determining if the content you find on the Internet is credible and valid.  If you need help determining the validity of the information you've acquired from the Internet, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Tools - EBM Calculators, a glossary, and several articles addressing experimental design and methodolgy are located under this tab.

Videos - The Library subscribes to several streaming packages for videos.  We also include a few useful video websites.

 

Library Hours

 

The UIW Library is being staffed virtually Monday - Saturday from 8am - 8pm, Sundays from 2pm - 8pm. 

Please find the chat widget on the library's homepage along with other options to reach us.

Library Hours

 

Library Hours & Services

chat loading...