Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives: How to Use and Understand Archives

Policies for Researchers

1. All researchers and persons requesting information from the archives must complete a registration form.
2. Researchers are permitted access to the archives by appointment previously arranged by the Archivist.
3. Access to certain documents may be restricted by statute, office origin, or by request of the donor.
4. Observance of copyright laws is the responsibility of individual researchers.
5. Reproduction of most materials is allowed and is done by archives staff. Fees are posted in the research room.
6. Reference assistance to locate relevant materials is provided by archives staff. However, archives staff are not available to conduct extensive research.
7. Materials should be handled with care. They shall not be traced over, written or marked upon, folded, or leaned on. Pencils, paper, and place markers will be provided for you for use in the research area.
8.  Folders and materials within folders must be kept in the same order as that in which they were received. Research is done in one folder at a time.
9.  Researchers are liable for any damage, deterioration, or loss that they have caused while using the collections.
10. Photographs for personal research use may be taken of the materials using a camera without flash.
11.  Food and beverages are not permitted in the research room.

An online tutorial on how to understand and use archival finding aids and inventories.

San Diego State University Tutorial

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], [Collection], Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives, San Antonio, Texas.

Cite works using the appropriate style guide, found at the MLA section of the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) website.

In projects, papers, and presentations, you are expected to use inclusive language.