Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives: Home

The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives holds the organizational records of the congregation, an apostolic order of women religious with roots in Lyon, France and beginnings in the United States in Texas in 1869.

Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives

The archives of the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word include records that date from 1869 to the present, representing the foundations and ministries of the order through the years in the United States, Ireland, Latin America, and Africa. The ministry records encompass subject areas such as health care and hospitals, education, social services, elder care, pastoral care, and preferential ministry for the poor. In addition, the collections include records that document the spiritual and community life of the Sisters.CCVI Emblem

Historical Moment

   

Change of Habit, 1968-1969

Sisters Maria Teresa Flores, Patricia Fulkerson, Mary Carmel Smith, Eilish Ryan, and Martha Ann Kirk

*

Mother Madeleine Chollet (holding prayer book) and Sisters of the General Administration Council, 1894

Top row (l-r): Srs.Gabriel Wheelahan, Alexis Harrison, Mary John O'Shaughnessy, Athanasius Vauthier, St. John Reibe

Bottom row: (l-r): Srs. Alphonse Brollier, Mother Madeleine Chollet, Mary of the Sacred Heart Bradley

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Donna Guerra
Contact:
Director of Archives & Records Management
4503 Broadway
(Motherhouse Chapel basement)
San Antonio, TX 78209
**
Hours: by appointment
210-828-2224, x410

Acknowledgement

The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word (CCVI) Archives is grateful to the Mabee Library for allowing the use of this space to share information about the congregational archives and its holdings.

chat loading...