LibGuides: Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Archives: Highlights/Exhibits from the CCVI Archives

Exhibit: Experiences of Mexican American CCVI Sisters

CCVI Fronteriza Sisters in the Borderlands: Accompanying our Texas Mexican Communities, 1871 - present / CCVI Hermanas Fronterizas en la Frontera: Acompañando a nuestras Comunidades Mexicanas de Texas, 1871 - presente
This exhibit is a celebration, documentation, and one of the first acknowledgements of the Mexican American and Mexico-born Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word (San Antonio) who have served in Texas in what is frequently called 'greater Mexico' - the region North of the natural waterway border that Texans call the Rio Grande, and that Mexicans call the Río Bravo del Norte.

CCVI Archives CatalogIt Database
This is our database that allows us to share artifacts, artworks, and other objects from our archival collections.

https://archive-it.org/home/ccviArchivesSA
This site is a collection of archived websites that represent the activity on the internet of the CCVIs. Each Wayback link within the web collections reveal a web snapshot of the website as it appeared and the content avilable at the website at the time the website was 'crawled,' i.e., saved. The archives began saving web content in 2022, when the CCVI Archives applied for and received a grant with the Internet Archive's Community Webs program. https://communitywebs.archive-it.org/

Wonderfully Made — Sisters and the Visual Arts
The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word (CCVI) have engaged with the visual arts since the Congregation’s founding in 1869 in San Antonio, Texas. Early Sisters sewed the Congregation’s emblem onto scapulars, which formed part of their traditional habits. Following the Second Vatican Council in the mid-1960s, more Sisters began creating art as a spiritual exercise while on retreat. They practiced their creativity while serving as missionaries, hospital administrators, social workers, scientists, and more. CCVI Sisters have made art of all kinds using different media, from quilts to greeting cards to murals.
In 1991, the Congregation established ReBarn Center for Spirituality and the Arts, a ministry to explore the relationship between the arts and spirituality. Sister Alice Holden stewarded the ministry until its closing in 2005, introducing many Sisters as well as local San Antonio community members to their own creative potentiality. Music, workshops, art exhibits, the martial arts and interfaith spiritual traditions were included in the holistic vision of the ministry.