To get help, please contact the UIW Libraries Reference Desk at 210-829-3835, via Library Chat, by text to 210-526-0776, or by email to email@example.com.
The UIW Mabee Library hosts a number of credible resources that were purchased specifically to support Nursing research and practice. The library's resources are quite comprensive in this area. This guide will highlight several databases, books, journal titles, etc. which contain credible peer-reviewed information including evidence-based research and guidelines.
Getting started -
Databases - Databases will allow you to search for articles published on your topic. Many of the databases that we subscribe to will link you to the full-text of the article. Choose the "Databases" tab in this guide to obtain a list of those databases used by researchers and practitioners.
Nursing ejournals - eJournals can provide you with the most recent information. Click on the "ejournals" tab to find a link to a brief list of our ejournals in that area as well as a link to our entire ejournal collection.
Books - The UIW Library book collection contains supplemental and related reading. Some physical resources of interest can also be located at one of the 4 UIW health professions libraries. Because we are an e-preferred library, our electronic collection of books continues to grow to provide the most recent information. There are still some cases when healthcare publishers will not sell libraries ebooks. In these cases, we attempt to provide these resources in print.
Clinical Trials & Systematic Reviews (EBM Resources) - Finding the best evidence is extremely important in the care of individuals. There are several resources which allow practitioners to locate evidence-based information in the form of original research, clinical trials and systematic reviews. You will find a few of these resources listed under the EBM Resources (Evidence-based medicine) tab.
Websites - This guide contains several websites that are frequented by researchers. This is just a starting point as these websites and the associations hosting them will have many more valuable links. Remember, you are responsible for determining if the content you find on the Internet is credible and valid. If you need help determining the validity of the information you've acquired from the Internet, please ask a librarian for assistance.
Tools - EBM Calculators, a glossary, and several articles addressing experimental design and methodolgy are located under this tab.
Videos - The Library subscribes to several streaming packages for videos. We also include a few useful video websites.
The UIW Library is being staffed virtually Monday - Saturday from 8am - 8pm, Sundays from 2pm - 8pm.
Please find the chat widget on the library's homepage along with other options to reach us.