LibGuides: Resources for Residents/Fellows: Home

Welcome!

This resource guide is intended for easy access to library resources for the residents/fellows at UIWSOM. You'll find key databases, links to important pages through UIW, as well as library hours and contact information.

SOM Medical Library Website

LWW Clerkship Collection

Clerkship/Clinical Rotations Texts
The LWW Clerkship Collection is your portal to trusted Lippincott content. It includes an array of most commonly required textbooks and multimedia assets for use in medical, pharmacy, and other health sciences programs.

Additional Resources

How to Read a Paper - BMJ
Article series on how to read and interpret research papers

Helpful Websites

NEJM Resident 360 (Only available for IM and FM)
Designed specifically for residents, this resource provides you with relevant information, resources, and support to approach residency with confidence.
OSTMED.DR
Digital library of osteopathic medicine content that provides indexing, as well as selected full text. Includes both current and historical resources.

Staff and Location

Staff

Circulation/Reference: 210-619-7038

Amy Bennett | 210-619-7040
Library Assistant

Dawn Field | 210-283-6971
Medical Informatics Librarian

Amanda Magana | 210-619-7038
Circulation Supervisor

Yumi Yaguchi | 210-619-7039
Director of Library Services

All SOM Library personnel email

Location

UIW School of Osteopathic Medicine Library

Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering medical disciplines such as cardiology, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering pharmacy and related disciplines such as drugs, epidemiology, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, toxicology, and more.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, reference works, and multimedia resources covering athletic training, kinesiology, exercise physiology, geriatrics, neuroanatomy, orthopedics, physiology, and more. Also includes study tools, quick answers, and an integrated drug database.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, and multimedia covering anatomy, immunology, internal medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, surgery, and more.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Clinical studies from the U.S. National Library of Medicine that include study title, conditions, interventions, and location.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reviews and reports covering child health, genetic disorders, infectious diseases, mental health, public health, and more. Includes clinical answers, protocols, and trials.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Books and guides covering evidence-based medicine, including statistical and study design, interpreting and evaluating literature, probability, populations, findings, standard tests, and more.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
Books covering anatomy, clinical medicine, epidemiology, histology, neuroscience, osteopathic medicine, pharmacology, physiology, and more.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, comparisons, patient education, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals, books, and other literature covering biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, and more.

PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.

Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding information to support clinical practice/care. Covering systematic reviews, guidelines, primary research, and more.

Complete List of UIW Databases

Point-of-care evidence-based medicine resources

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Overviews, recommendations, and articles covering evidence-based medical research and drug information.

Guidelines

Guideline Central
Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. They partner with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition. ONLY HAVE ACCESS TO FREE VERSION.
This includes provider guideline summaries/overviews, patient summaries, calculators, drugs/medications, clinical trials, guideline videos and specialty/topic articles. NO NEED TO REGISTER.

Helpful Links

Search UpToDate (UIWSOM only)

UIWSOM controls access to the UpToDate subscription.

UpToDate log in (UIWSOM only)
Log in to the new UpToDate access point.

UpToDate Steps (our homemade instructions)
Step by Step instructions for those new to UpToDate or those having issues.
UpToDate SSO Tip Sheet
Instructions from UpToDate's publisher Wolters Kluwer.
UpToDate Instructions to Consolidation your Accounts

BMJ Case Reports Institutional Fellowships

BMJ Case Reports

BMJ Case Reports has a unique business model whereby users (whether authors and/or readers) become Fellows. Through the Institutional Fellowships, BMJ Case Reports gives faculty, staff and students within the institution the freedom to submit as many cases as they like as well as access to all the published material. UIW Libraries maintains the Institutional Fellowship. Ask SOM Library for more details.

NCOPPE - UIWSOM ONLY

National Center for Osteopathic Principles and Practice Education (NCOPPE)
UIWSOM USE ONLY
The National Center for Osteopathic Principles and Practice Education (NCOPPE) serves as an online repository of OPP-related materials available on-demand for educators across the UME-GME-CME continuum. NCOPPE is a part of the Department for the Advancement of Osteopathic Education at A.T. Still University – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. Their goal is to advance osteopathic education, promote the integration of osteopathic principles in clinical practice, and encourage the development of OPP educational materials in our profession.

NCOPPE provides access to osteopathic core competency educational resources, residency and clerkship resources, and faculty development. Users have access to hundreds of OPP and OMM-focused recorded lectures, labs, and workshops.

Resources for Residents/Fellows: Home