Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Studies: Home

Resources in music

How to check out physical items from the library during UIW Mabee Library classification conversion from Dewey Decimal to Library of Congress System

For checking out physical items from the library including CDs, DVDs, music scores, and books please search the catalog and find items you need. Sign in to your account at top right corner of the page. A highlighted "Request" option will appear under "Get it" for each item. Click on "Request". The library staff will pull the items off the shelves and put them on the Hold Shelf at the library's front desk under your name. You will receive an email that your items are ready to be picked up.

Check library hours

Locate Journal Articles

A. The library is subscribed to the Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP-Full Text): Music journal resource including both scholarly and popular sources. Subject coverage includes music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms, composition and more.

B. In case you know which music journal you are looking for, UIW Library has access to many music journals full-text online and in print format. Click on "Articles+" tab  under the "NestSearch" section on the library's main page. Then, click on "Journals List tab". Type the journal title (omit initial articles) and press enter to see if the library has access to the journal through databases in electronic format online or the library has it in its print journals collection located on the second floor of the library.

In case you want to browse what music journals the library has access to, click on "Advanced Search" tab under "NestSearch". On the next screen, change "Any Field" in the first box to "Subject". Type "Music" in the search box. Select "Electronic Journals" or "Print Journals" under "Resource Type" box. Choose "Books & More" under "search Scope" and click on search.

C. The library has also subscription to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  the most comprehensive music database in the world. This database covers over 10,000 music journals from around the world with over half a million records. Remember that this database is mainly citations and abstracts to articles only and you have to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to receive the full texts of articles AFTER you are sure the library does not have access to the full text through other databases or in its print journal holdings. RILM will show you the availability of full-text articles through other databases if the library has access to them.

NestSearch Box with Advanced Search Link

Discipline Librarian

Profile Photo
Farhad Moshiri
Contact:
Library-Room 205
210-829-3842
Audiovisuals, Copyright, Music, library liaison to the Music Department
Disciplines: Audiovisuals, Copyright, Music

Locate Books, Music Scores, and Audiovisual Recordings

NestSearch (Using NestSearch box on library's webpage)

 

NestSearch option works like the popular Google search except unlike a Google search the results are not unreliable information from World Wide Web. NestSearch searches academic specific databases including the local catalog. Type your search terms in "Everything" tab in NestSearch box and click on "Go". When you get the results, on the left column under "Resource Type" choose Books, Articles, Music Scores, Video Recordings and Sound Recordings for desired format (you may need to open "Show More" and choose the format.

If you are searching for a music score (sheet music) of a single song or Art Song (Lied) or an Aria from an opera that usually is published in a collection, use the keyword search option (Any Field). Put the title of the song in quotation marks and click on search tab. For example, if you're looking for the Aria: La Donna e mobile from Verdi's opera Rigoletto, you put the aria's title in quotation marks: "La Donna e mobile" and search. If you receive many results, choose the limit option and limit the type of the material to music score. If the title of the song is not unique and many composers have songs with the same title (such as "Serenade", etc.) , then use the composer's last name and the title together in your search. Be careful if you search for a song (lied) that is part of a song cycle. In almost all cases, individual song titles of a song cycle is not searchable. Normally the general title of the song cycle is searchable through the catalog. For example, Schubert's Winterreise includes 24 songs. Make sure to find the song cycle's title in order to find the individual songs.

In addition to the library's holdings of printed music scores and scores on CD-ROM in Audiovisual Collection, there are free online resources for music scores that are in public domain. See MUSOPEN that includes both scores and recordings in Public Domain or Creative Commons (free of copyright). Attention should be paid to use these scores since they represent 19th century editorial conventions not today's conventions.

RISM : Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (Intl. Inventory of Musical Sources)

is another important database of musical sources, the majority of which are music manuscripts dating from before 1800. Original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions.

Please pay attention to the music scores in these websites since their editorial practices are old in most cases (that is why they are in Public Domain).  

For more tips on finding music recordings in both CD and DVD formats please see the Audiovisuals Search Tips .  

In case the library does not own what you're looking for, you can use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to obtain it from another library. Ask the reference librarian to help you to use the interlibrary loan service.

Music Databases

Print Reference Resources

Locate background information for your research

 
Print Reference Books
 
Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks have articles that summarize topics. Reference books have the letter "R" at the top of the call number. The Reference Section is located to the right of the Reference Desk on the first floor. Here is a very brief bibliography of suggested titles available in the Reference Section.
 
  • Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (1991): R 780.920 B168b.
  • Biographical Dictionary of Dance (1982): R 920 C678b.
  • Career Opportunities in the Music Industry (2000): R 780.23 F456c.
  • Dance words (1995): R 792.803 P937d.
  • Encyclopedia of the Musical Theater (2001): R 782.8103 G211e.
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (1998): R 780.3 G233 (in 10 volumes
    and 9 compact discs: CD-0231 in audiovisual collection).
  • Guide to Research in Music Education (1993): R 780.7 P541g.
  • Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music (1996): R 780.920 H339.
  • Harvard Dictionary of Music (2003): R 780.3 H3392
  • International Encyclopedia of Women Composers (1987) R 780.920 C678i
  • Music since 1900 (2001): R 780.904 S634m.
  • New Grove Dictionary of American Music (1986) in 4 volumes: R 781.773 N532,
  • New Grove Dictionary of Musical instruments (1984) in 3 volumes: R 781.91 N532.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Dance (2000): R 792.803 C887o.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music (1994): R 780.3 K360.
chat loading...