Home - MUSI 3348 Studies in World Music - Spring 2024 - LibGuides at University of the Incarnate Word

Journals and WebResources

Ethnomusicology. Published by the University of Illinois Press
Ethnomusicology Review
The Society for Ethnomusicology
Smithsonian / Folkways Recordings
Although, the recordings on this website are for sale, the liner notes are free. These notes provide a wast amount of information about music of different countries. The library has some of the recordings in its CD Collection.
New World Records
A great source for early American and Native American music. Although, the recordings on this website are for sale, the liner notes are free. This provides a wast amount of information about early American and Native American music. The library has some of the recordings in its CD Collection.

CDs in UIW Libraries Media Collection

UIW Libraries' Media Collection contains more than 100 CDs of music of different countries of the world. Please search UIW libraries online catalog for each country. Then limit your search to Audio (music).

Collections:

Excursions in World Music / Bruno Nettl (2 CDs) -- CD-0275 + Book: MT6 .E98 2001

Worlds of music: an introduction to the music of world's peoples / Jeff Todd Titon (4 CDs) -- CD-0276 + Book: ML3545 .W67 2002

Media Librarian

Farhad Moshiri

Email Me

Contact:

Library-Room 205
210-829-3842
Media Collection, Music Collection, Copyright. Library liaison to Music Department.

Disciplines: Copyright, Media, Music, Music Education, Music Industry, Music Therapy

How to find books and journal articles in UIW libraries online catalog

How to find books and journal articles in UIW libraries online catalog

World Music

Reference

Nettl, Bruno, Ruth Stone, James Porter, and Timothy Rice. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Publishing, 1998.

-------------------------------------------

In Circulating Collection:

The Garland handbook of African music -- ML350.G54 2008 (Also available online)

The Garland handbook of Latin American music -- ML199.G36 2008

The Garland handbook of Southeast Asian music -- ML330.G37 2008

DVDs in UIW Libraries Media Collection

The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. Tokyo: Distributed by Multicultural Media, 2005 (30 volumes.) Available online.

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Africa, 2005. (3 DVDs + Guides: M1830.J8)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Americas, 2005. (6 DVDs + Guides: M1680.J8)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Europe, 2005. (2 DVDs + Guides: M1698.J8)

Books on World Music at UIW Libraries

Search UIW libraries online catalog (NestSearch) to find books about world music. Select advanced search option. Choose subject as your search field and type world music in search box.

Music Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes many articles on music.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Filter your subject to music to browse videos related to music.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Includes Cambridge Companions to Music.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes many essays on music.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for any music related subject or select "Music" from the menu to browse.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Reference entries covering music from all regions of the globe grouped by continent and searchable by place, cultural group, subject, instrument, and genre. Includes associated visual and audio content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes many articles on music.
Library of Congress National Jukebox This link opens in a new window
Historical sound recordings covering band music, comedy, musical theater, dance music, opera, and more. Includes works from collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Mass Database
Music database covering settings of the Ordinary (Mass) from the closing years of the 14th century to the present. NOTE: This resource provider has not yet switched to secure hypertext transfer protocol (https). To access this content, it is necessary enter the following URL into your browser manually: http://www.mdb.uni-mainz.de/
Musical America This link opens in a new window
News, reports, and other information covering the performing arts industry, including information on performing artists, facilities, managers, presenters, schools, media, services, and organizations.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
MUSOPEN This link opens in a new window
Recordings, sheet music, textbooks, and other content covering music and musical instruments, with options for browsing by composer, performer, instrument, time period, form, and more. Includes educational materials for piano, clarinet, guitar, flute, and other instruments.
Neue Mozart Ausgabe This link opens in a new window
Musical scores, critical commentaries, and related resources covering Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions, including sacred vocal music, theatre music, orchestral works, concertos, church sonatas, chamber music, piano music, marches, and more.
New Music USA This link opens in a new window
News and information covering new music created in the United States, including headlines, articles, artist interviews, awarded projects, and more.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Reference entries for works covering history and cultures of music worldwide, searchable by topic, instrument, era, region, place type, or occupation. Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Journals covering composition, jazz studies, musicology, music analysis, music pedagogy, music therapy, popular music, and more. Also includes records for conference proceedings and special topic volumes.

MUSI 3348 Studies in World Music - Spring 2024: Home

Media equipment available at the Mabee Library (main campus) and the Music Department Listening Lab