Skip to Main Content

History: Locating Articles

This guide introduces students to resources available for historical research.

Useful Databases for Historical Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Historical Periodicals Collection (American Antiquarian Society) This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window

Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Archive - Texas Collection This link opens in a new window
News Bank This link opens in a new window

• News Bank - San Antonio Express-News Current and Historical Collection

New York Times - Historical

The New York Times - Historical contains the full text of the newspaper from September 18, 1851, through December 31, 2017. Using a date limiter is the most effective

means of searching this full-text database. A historic event may have been covered on the first page - selecting that limiter can be useful too.

See the research guide Using the Historic New York Times for more information on using this database.

Quick Search Boxes

Database Tutorials

Databases on the EBSCOhost platform share many characteristics. This tutorial provides a quick overview of advanced

searching techniques.