For complete listings of print magazines, journals and newspapers available at Mabee Library, visit our website. There you can see full lists of print journals or e-journals to which the library subscribes.
While it can be difficult to distinguish between the various types of periodicals when they are in electronic format, many databases now allow researchers to initially search by or later sort their results by type of publication.
Also known as industry magazines.
Appearance: Generally attractive and are often illustrated with color photographs.
Audience: Written for industry professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers, though the magazine may sometimes accept articles from industry professionals.
Citations: Occasionally list references at the end of the article or provide footnotes within the text.
Content: Includes current events and special features within a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published biweekly or monthly.
Examples:
There are a number of reasons someone might need additional information about a periodical. One such instance might be that you are preparing an article you wish to submit for publication. Ulrichsweb™ Global Serials Directory is a great resource to learn basic things like what types of articles a journal publishes, who the intended audience is, how often they publish, how long they have been in business, if they are peer reviewed, etc.
What is Ulrichsweb?
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
What does it include?
Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrichweb records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Also known as scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals.
Appearance: Generally have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but few glossy pages or photographs. Use scholarly language with vocabulary specific to their profession or field.
Audience: Written for academics and professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research.
Citations: Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.
Content: Includes scholarly research for a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.
Examples:
Appearance: Generally attractive and illustrated with color photographs.
Audience: Written for the general public.
Author/Authority: Articles written by staff or freelance writer.
Content: Includes current events and special features.
Frequency: Usually published weekly or monthly.
Examples:
Appearance: Generally printed on newsprint in black ink.
Audience: Written for the general public.
Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers and freelance journalists.
Citations: Will sometimes cite sources, a scholar, or a freelance writer.
Content: Includes current events and special features.
Frequency: Usually published daily or weekly.
Examples:
