LibGuides: DNP Research Resources: Starting Points

Quick Links

Board Vitals
The Standard in Healthcare Board Exam Prep & CME
UIW Libraries
NestSearch - UIW Libraries Catalog
Search collections using keyword(s), title, author, or subject.
Electronic Journals
Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

eBook Collections

Stat!Ref
Reference works and core titles covering multiple health sciences disciplines, including nursing, obstetrics, pharmacology, physical therapy, epidemiology, evidence-based healthcare, and more.
Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and other references covering general reference, business, health sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, natural sciences, and more.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Books covering a range of subject areas and disciplines. Includes e-Libro Spanish language ebooks and Science and Technology Ebook Collection.
Ebook Collection (EBSCO)
Books covering a range of academic disciplines, including health sciences, social sciences, business, and humanities, as well as general interest topics.

Recommended Databases and Resources

AccessMedicine
Provides access to more than 60 medical titles, including the Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series, Tintinalli’s emergency medicine text, and Goodman & Gilman’s pharmacology text. Register for a MyAccess account to view from and download content to a mobile device, and access additional content.
CINAHL Complete
Journals and magazines covering nursing, public health, diseases, medicine, and related areas. Includes evidence-based care sheets and research instruments.
Cochrane Library
Reviews and reports covering child health, genetic disorders, infectious diseases, mental health, public health, and more. Includes clinical answers, protocols, and trials.
Micromedex
Drug and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, comparisons, patient education, and more.
Nursing Full Text Plus
Journals covering nursing and allied health areas, including critical care nursing, hospice nursing, nursing education, nutrition, pediatric nursing, and more.
PsycINFO
Journals, books, and other content covering psychology and related disciplines, including applied, developmental and educational psychology, social psychology, and more.
PubMed
Resource for finding journals, books, and other literature covering biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, and more.
Science Direct
Journals and books covering a range of academic disciplines, including humanities, physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and more.

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Web of Science Core Collection
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering a range of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Journals

The library subscribes to a large number of electronic journals in the areas of health and biological sciences (including related fields such as Medicine, Psychiatry, Biology and Public Health). The complete list of eJournals at UIW is found at the library's home page, or by using the link:
A-Z List of Journals

E-Book Collections:

Specific Titles:

Subject Librarian

Dede Rios

Email Me

Contact:

Dede Rios, PhD, MS
4301 Broadway, LIB 223
San Antonio, TX 78209

dmrios1@uiwtx.edu

(210) 829-6054

Disciplines: Athletic Training, Nursing, Nursing & Health