Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Studies: Robert Cruise Music CD Collection

Resources in music

Audiovisual equipment available at Mabee Library and the Music Department Listening Lab

Audiovisual equipment available at the Mabee Library (Main campus):

  • 13 computers at the library's computer lab (Cardinal's Nest) have DVD/CD players.
  • The library has 4 external DVD/CD drives for check out.
  • The library has 2 DVD/Blu-Ray/CD multi region/format players for check out.
  • The library has several headphones for check out.

Audiovisual equipment available at the Music Department  Listening Lab:

  • Three listening stations with CD / LP (Vinyl) record / Audio Cassette players.
  • The Music Department Listening Lab is open 10-15 hours a week. The hours of operation is posted on the lab for each semester.

Article

 

Sharing the wealth

An article by Ashley Festa published in UIW's magazine: "The Word" in Fall 2009 on Robert and Connie Cruise and their generous donation of more than 9,000 thousand CDs of the 19th and 20th century Symphonic music to UIW.

Audiovisual Librarian

Profile Photo
Farhad Moshiri
Contact:
Library-Room 205
210-829-3842
Audiovisual Collection, Music Collection, Copyright. Library liaison to Art, Modern Languages, Music, and Theater Arts Departments

About

From 2007 to 2013 Robert Cruise donated more than 9,000 CDs to the UIW Library. The Music Department faculty have selected more than 2,000 CDs as curriculum related, to be kept in the Audiovisual Collection at the library (CDs 2001-). The remaining CDs are kept at the Music Department's Listening Lab (Room 217 in the Music Building) for research purposes. These CDs do not circulate and must be used inside the Listening Lab. The spreadsheet below is the list of these CDs and is searchable by composer, title, and performers.

For browsing the CDs in the library's Audiovisual Collection fully cataloged in the library's catalog, please go to the library homepage. Click on "Advanced Search" in the NestSearch box. On the next screen, click on "Browse" at the top of the page. Select "Call numbers" in the search box and type CD-2001. The results will show all Cruise CDs in order of the CD numbers. The CDs can be searched by composer, title of the album, individual titles of the pieces, performs and subject or forms of the music pieces in the library catalog. These CDs can be circulated outside of the library. Students can check out up to 3 CDs for one week. Faculty can check out unlimited number of CDs for one week. In case extended loan time is needed, patrons can renew items online once (by logging into their account on library's site in "Advanced Search" page (under Books+) or by bringing the items to the library in person (ID is required) and recheck out the CDs.

Library Catalog

Sound Trove

Read UIW Music Department's faculty, Dr. Kevin Salfen's blog of reviews of music recordings (mainly from the Cruise CD Collection at the Music Department and UIW Mabee Library's CD Collection): Sound Trove.

chat loading...