Articles and Databases - DWHP 3200 - Fall 2024 - LibGuides at University of the Incarnate Word

Get Background Information

The Credo Reference database is a resource you can use to gather background information on your topic. It is a collection

of more than 1,500 reference books that can help you locate quick facts and general information. These books can be

particularly useful to identify terminology, statistics, people, events, timelines, and additional resources.

Database Tutorials

Databases such as Academic Search Complete are known as EBSCOhost databases. EBSCO and EBSCOhost mean nothing

on their own - they refer to the vendor and/or platform. This video tutorial provides a quick overview of advanced searching

techniques for EBSCOhost databases.

CQ Researcher is a database that provides quality reports on political and social issues. Each report usually provides an

overview, a description of the current situation/event, a history, a chronology, pro/con viewpoints, and a resources list.

Journals/Magazines (aka Periodicals, Serials)

The library subscribes to more than 70,000 periodicals and most are in an electronic format, accessible through our databases or

directly through the A-Z List of Journals found under the Databases & Journals tab in our Search Collections box.

Unacceptable Resources

Some resources are considered unacceptable in a university environment:

Wikipedia - articles are crowdsourced; anyone can create an account and make changes to entries
General print/electronic encyclopedias - World Book, Encyclopedia Britannica, Funk & Wagnall's

If you have questions about research resources, check with your instructor.

Finding a Topic to Write About

Use this database if you are trying to decide on a topic.

Databases - Academic Search Complete

Use a database to locate articles, both popular and scholarly, on your topic. The library subscribes to more than 200

databases; click the Databases & Journals tab in the Search Collections box on the library's web page to see an A-Z list of

databases and a subject arrangement of databases.

Academic Search Complete is one of our most comprehensive databases; it indexes the contents of more than

13,000 publications and contains the text of 9,000+ publications. It also links out to other full-text databases.

Other Useful Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and books covering climate change, renewable energy, pollution, green building, recycling, and related topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, reports, and case studies covering marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspapers covering national and international news and events. Also includes television and radio transcripts.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes overviews, tables, maps, opposing positions, bibliographies, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and other references covering general reference, business, health sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, natural sciences, and more.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness, such as acupuncture, chiropractic, herbalism, homeopathy, nutrition, osteopathy, and others.
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
Reference entries and content covering Texas history, geography, and culture.
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering a range of topics on Texas, including history, ethnic and cultural diversity, literature, public health, business, sports, and more. Also includes selected newspaper content and various reports.

Using the Open Internet as a Resource

Some internet resources may be appropriate for university-level work. Federal, state, and local governments publish reports,

public records, statistics, etc. on their Web sites, and this type of information can be very useful for your papers and

presentations. Check with your instructor before incorporating information from Web pages into your work; some instructors

have stringent guidelines.

Web Site Checklist
Checklist published in American Libraries.

DWHP 3200 - Fall 2024: Articles and Databases

Get Background Information

The Credo Reference database is a resource you can use to gather background information on your topic. It is a collection

of more than 1,500 reference books that can help you locate quick facts and general information. These books can be

particularly useful to identify terminology, statistics, people, events, timelines, and additional resources.

Database Tutorials

Databases such as Academic Search Complete are known as EBSCOhost databases. EBSCO and EBSCOhost mean nothing

on their own - they refer to the vendor and/or platform. This video tutorial provides a quick overview of advanced searching

techniques for EBSCOhost databases.

CQ Researcher is a database that provides quality reports on political and social issues. Each report usually provides an

overview, a description of the current situation/event, a history, a chronology, pro/con viewpoints, and a resources list.

Journals/Magazines (aka Periodicals, Serials)

The library subscribes to more than 70,000 periodicals and most are in an electronic format, accessible through our databases or

directly through the A-Z List of Journals found under the Databases & Journals tab in our Search Collections box.

Unacceptable Resources

Some resources are considered unacceptable in a university environment:

Wikipedia - articles are crowdsourced; anyone can create an account and make changes to entries

General print/electronic encyclopedias - World Book, Encyclopedia Britannica, Funk & Wagnall's

If you have questions about research resources, check with your instructor.

Finding a Topic to Write About

Databases - Academic Search Complete

Use a database to locate articles, both popular and scholarly, on your topic. The library subscribes to more than 200

databases; click the Databases & Journals tab in the Search Collections box on the library's web page to see an A-Z list of

databases and a subject arrangement of databases.

Academic Search Complete is one of our most comprehensive databases; it indexes the contents of more than

13,000 publications and contains the text of 9,000+ publications. It also links out to other full-text databases.

Other Useful Databases

Using the Open Internet as a Resource

Some internet resources may be appropriate for university-level work. Federal, state, and local governments publish reports,

public records, statistics, etc. on their Web sites, and this type of information can be very useful for your papers and

presentations. Check with your instructor before incorporating information from Web pages into your work; some instructors

have stringent guidelines.