Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Audiovisual equipment available at Mabee Library and the Music Department Listening Lab
Audiovisual equipment available at the Mabee Library (Main campus):
- 13 computers at the library's computer lab (Cardinal's Nest) have DVD/CD players.
- The library has 4 external DVD/CD drives for check out.
- The library has 2 DVD/Blu-Ray/CD multi region/format players for check out.
- The library has several headphones for check out.
Audiovisual equipment available at the Music Department Listening Lab:
- Three listening stations with CD / LP (Vinyl) record / Audio Cassette players.
- The Music Department Listening Lab is open 10-15 hours a week. The hours of operation is posted on the lab for each semester.
List of women composers from Oxford Music Online.
In addition, search the UIW Libraries online catalog to find more books, ebooks, music scores, DVDs, CDs, and streaming videos by and about women composers.
Music Score Collections
Historical anthology of music by women -- M2.H68 + CD-0396
Contemporary anthology of music by women -- M2.C77 + CD-0397
Black women composers: a century of piano music (1893-1990) -- M21.B53
Women composers: a heritage of songs -- M1619.W87 (in 2 volumes: high & low voice)
Women's Philharmonic Advocacy
Women conductors (streaming video)
Komponistinnen (women composers) / Kyra Steckeweh -- DVD ML82.W65 2021
PBS: Great Performances: Now Hear This
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes many articles on music.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Filter your subject to music to browse videos related to music.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Includes Cambridge Companions to Music.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes many essays on music.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Music database for encyclopedia entries covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for any music related subject or select "Music" from the menu to browse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes many articles on music.
Library of Congress National Jukebox This link opens in a new window
Music database for historical sound recordings covering band music, comedy, musical theater, dance music, opera, and more. Includes works from collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Music database covering settings of the Ordinary (Mass) from the closing years of the 14th century to the present. NOTE: This resource provider has not yet switched to secure hypertext transfer protocol (https). To access this content, it is necessary enter the following URL into your browser manually: http://www.mdb.uni-mainz.de/
Musical America This link opens in a new window
Music Industry database for news, reports, and other information covering the performing arts industry, including information on performing artists, facilities, managers, presenters, schools, media, services and organizations.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Music database for journals and magazines covering all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Includes coverage for both scholarly and popular music resources.
MUSOPEN This link opens in a new window
Music database for recordings, sheet music, textbooks, and other content covering music and musical instruments, with options for browsing by composer, performer, instrument, time period, form, and more. Includes educational materials for piano, clarinet, guitar, flute, and other instruments.
Neue Mozart Ausgabe This link opens in a new window
Music database for musical scores, critical commentaries, and related resources covering Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions, including sacred vocal music, theatre music, orchestral works, concertos, church sonatas, chamber music, piano music, marches, and more.
New Music USA This link opens in a new window
Music database for news and information covering new music created in the United States, including headlines, articles, artist interviews, awarded projects, and more. Also includes featured video content.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Music database for reference works covering history and cultures of music worldwide, searchable by topic, instrument, era, region, place type, or occupation. IncludesThe Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Music database for finding journals covering composition, jazz studies, musicology, music analysis, music pedagogy, music therapy, popular music, and more. Also includes records for conference proceedings and special topic volumes.
, Art History
, Modern Languages
, Music & Ensemble
, Music Industry
, Theater Arts