Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York Times (Historical) Database: Home

This guide shows users how to locate a specific front page in the historic New York Times database.

The U.S. Newspaper of Record

  

 

   

Guide Author

Profile Photo
Leslie N. Todd
she/her/hers
chat loading...
Contact:
University of the Incarnate Word
4301 Broadway CPO# 297
San Antonio, TX 78209
210-829-3841
todd@uiwtx.edu

The New York Times - Historical

This database contains the full text of the newspaper from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2018.  Using a date limiter is the most effective means of searching this full-text database.  

Instructions

1.  At the library’s home page, click the Databases & Journals tab in the Search Collections box.   

2.  Click the Databases List box.

3.  Click the N in the alphabet toolbar. 

4.  Click the New York Times - Historical link.

5.  The Advanced search screen appears:

 

 

6.  To retrieve a newspaper for a particular date (perhaps April 16, 1912): in the Publication date area, use the down arrow to the right to view a list of options.  Select On this date; fill in the month, date and year boxes; in the More search options area place a check mark in the Front page article box.  Click Search.   

 

 

7.   The database retrieves six items.  Click the Full text - PDF link to view an article. 

 

8.  A PDF of the article appears.  To see the article in context as it appeared in that issue of The New York Times, click the Page view - PDF tab.  

 

 

 9.  On the left is a Go button that allows you to read all 24 pages of the April 16, 1912 edition of the newspaper.

 

 

chat loading...