Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Community Health Education
Search library databases in the health disciplines and the social science disciplines for articles on your topic. All databases will require UIW credentials when being accessed from off-campus locations.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing database for journals and magazines covering nursing, public health, diseases and conditions, medicine, and related areas. Also includes continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Health sciences and clinical research database for reviews and reports covering topics such as child health, genetic disorders, infectious diseases, mental health, public health, and more. Includes technology assessments, economic evaluations, and clinical trials.
Federal Register This link opens in a new window
Political science database for the daily journal of the U.S. government covering business and industry, the environment, health, public welfare, money, science, technology, and the world. Includes unofficial educational articles, videos, and reader aids to searching and using this resource.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Health administration database for journals, reports, and magazines covering hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. Also includes wire feeds, blogs, podcasts, and other content.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database for journals, newspapers, legal references, and business information covering current events, news, U.S. and international companies, federal and state cases and statutes, and more. Also includes television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs.
Consumer Health, general interest and health science database covering health and wellness, disorders and conditions, diagnosis and therapies, and drugs and supplements. Links to credible consumer health web resources
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Health sciences database for finding journals, books, and other literature covering the fields of biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, as well as other molecular biology resources.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database for books and reference materials covering research tools and methods for use in the social sciences, health sciences, and other disciplines. Includes methods map, reading lists, project planner, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology database for finding journals covering sociology, social work, human services, and related areas. Includes Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms, which provides hierarchical and alphabetical listings of main term descriptors.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology database for journals covering sociology, social work, and related areas, including social policy and services, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, population studies, and more. Includes many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Political Database of the Americas
Information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to democracy in the Western Hemisphere.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Psychology database for finding journals, books, and reports covering post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and related topics, including assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, public policy, and more. Includes PTSD and trauma-focused thesaurus to aid searching
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database for journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.
MSE & Health Sciences Librarian