LibGuides: High School Dual Credit Students: Find Articles

Scholarly Resources

Books in the UIW Libraries are considered scholarly resources.

Journals are considered scholarly resources. Other terms used to describe journals are academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed. Journals share the following characteristics:

• Published for a highly educated audience

• Articles are written by subject matter experts and may be peer-reviewed*

• Illustrations tend to be charts, graphs, tables

• Articles include bibliographies (works cited pages)

• Few or no advertisements

* Article manuscripts are read and reviewed by members of an editorial board who determine whether or not the article is suitable for publication. See the following tab Peer Review Process for more information.

Primo Discovery Search Box

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering topics pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Also includes speeches and country reports.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Reference entries covering ancient to contemporary art and architecture, searchable by field, medium, era, region, place type, or occupation. Includes articles, images, biographies and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Journals, reports, and magazines covering political science, public policy, and international relations.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Journals covering general psychology, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology, and the behavioral aspects of related disciplines.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals covering psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, emotion and behavior, counseling, observational and experimental methods, and more.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Journals covering sociology, social work, and related areas, including social policy and services, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, population studies, and more. Includes many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Popular Resources

Magazines and newspapers are considered "popular" resources. They are usually considered reliable, but are not peer-reviewed.

Popular resources usually have the following characteristics:

• Written for a general audience

• Written by a staff of writers

• Lots of color illustrations

• Contain advertisements