Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audiovisual Collection: Free Audio & Video materials Online

Resources in Audiovisual Materials

Guides

Digital Video Collection Guide

A bibliography of licensed and open digital video collections compiled by Scott Spicer, Media Outreach Librarian, University of Minnesota

Open Access (free) Internet Sites for Streaming Video

A guide compiled by Arizona State University's Media Librarian Deg Farrelly

Reelgood A comprehensive Website to locate streaming videos (documentaries, movies, TV series, etc.)  

University of California in San Diego Library Guide to free and legal streaming videos

University of Virginia Library Guide to free and legal streaming videos

Selected audiovisual materials online

A. Comprehensive Free Video Sites

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB)

Documentary Stream (under construction)

Internet Archive

Internet Movie Database (IMDB) TV (movies and TV shows)

National Film Registry (Library of Congress)

Online short films

PBS Learning Media (clips)

PBS Passport (Requires membership in PBS affiliate station: KLRN, San Antonio)

San Antonio Public Library

Top Documentary Films (TDF)

Tubi (A collection of movies and TV shows free of charge. Includes commercials)

University Videos Digital Library

YouTube (Be sure to use "Filter" after your search and select "Creative Commons" to filter out illegal videos from the search results)

B. Massively Open Online Courses (MOOCs)

Academic Earth 

Annenberg Learner (Requires a license if used in teaching)

MIT OpenCourseWare 

OnlineCourses

Open University

Open Yale Courses 

Stanford University  

UCLA Courses 

The Ultimate MOOC handbook

USC Annenberg

C. Public Lectures and Cultural Events

 Edge 

FORA.tv 

Free Video Lectures

Hammer Museum Watch+Listen (UCLA)

Nobel Prize

Smithsonian Videos 

TED: Ideas worth spreading

D.1. Archaeology, Natural history & Anthropology

American Indian Film Gallery 

The Archaeology Channel 

Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture 

Penn Museum 

D.2. Business, Economics & Finance

CareerTV 

ECorner  

Prendismo Collection 

World Economic Forum 

World Trade Organization (WTO)

D.3. Education

Education Crash Course 

Edutopia  

eHow  

Federal Student Aid

HippoCampus  

Howcast  

Kaplan SAT and ACT Prep 

PBS LearningMedia 

Sesame Street.org  

U.S. Department of Education

Videos from College.gov

WatchKnowLearn  

YouTube EDU

YouTube Teachers 

D.4. Government, Politics & Law

Bloggingheads.tv 

CitizenTube 

C-SPAN Video Library 

United Nations 

USA.gov 

U.S. Department of State

World View 

D.5. Health & Medicine

AIDS.gov 

American Cancer Society 

CDCStreamingHealth  

Stanford Hospital and Clinics

World Health Organization

D.6. History

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank

History

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Mike Wallace Interviews 1957-1958  (65 interviews with famous opeople)

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum 

D.7. Human Rights, Global & Environmental Issues

It Gets Better Project  

Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting

UN International Decade for Action "Water for Life" 2005-2015 

UN Multimedia

UNICEF  

Witness   

D.8. Language & Literature

Book TV

LangMedia Resources for World Languages 

Librivox (Audio books in Public Domain)

National Writing Project  

Words of the World 

D.9. Performing Arts

Alan Lomax Archive 

Dance Channel TV 

Danosongs.com

Folkstreams

Incompetech.com

Jamendo.com

John Cage Video Archive / New World Symphony

Library of Congress National Jukebox

More Than Dance … 

MusOpen

New York City Ballet 

PD Sounds

Royal Opera House 

SoundBible.com

Stratford Festival 

Smithsonian Folkways 

D.10. Psychology

All about Psychology 

National Institute of Mental Health 

Mind Your Mind 

D.11. Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM)

SciMed TV

Astronomy and Physics

Carl Sagan’s COSMOS  

Mars Exploration Rover Mission 

NASA Television 

Sixty Symbols  

Chemistry

The Periodic Table of Videos 

General Science

Bill Nye the Science Guy 

NOVA Education 

Robert Krampf Science 

SciShow News 

Science Channel 

Science Magazine

Sick Science!  

Vega Science Trust Videos 

Mathematics

MSRI VMath 

Natural Sciences

Animal Planet  

California Academy of Sciences 

Garland Science 

National Audubon Society 

Nature Online Video Streaming Archive 

Wildlife Conservation Society

Wildscreen Arkive  

 

Introduction

According to the Copyright law, any material created since 1926 is copyrighted and its use requires permission from the copyright holder.

Please read the "terms of use" for each website listed in this guide. If it states that the website is for personal use only, it's content cannot be used in classroom for teaching (even in non-profit institutions) or in public performance situations such as an event at the university.

There are a few exceptions, however. Some materials can be used freely if the copyright holders has given their permission for their works to be used freely or with a few restrictions. These works are called works with "Creative Commons" licenses. In addition, if the amount of the material used is small it falls into fair use for educational purposes in a non-profit educational institution.

Many audiovisual material created and performed before 1926 is in public domain and can be used freely. Attention must be paid for revised and edited versions made after 1926 for these materials that results in placing them under copyright protection.

Disclaimer:  UIW Library is not responsible for any of the content linked from these sites.  We cannot guarantee availability of the content they provide, nor assume responsibility for the functionality of these sites.

Media Librarian

Profile Photo
Farhad Moshiri
Contact:
Library-Room 205
210-829-3842
Audiovisual Collection, Music Collection, Copyright. Library liaison to Art, Modern Languages, Music, and Theater Arts Departments
chat loading...