UIW Libraries Media Collection adheres to UIW Libraries Gifts Policy. The following are specific guidelines regarding media materials.
1. UIW Libraries do not accept gifts of LP (Vinyl) records, VHS tapes, Audio Cassette tapes, Laser discs and other obsolete formats.
2. List of gifts in Audio CD and DVD formats must be submitted to the Media Librarian for careful consideration. In case the Media Librarian selects some titles in the list, only those titles will be accepted.
3. UIW Libraries do not appraise gifts for tax purposes.
UIW Libraries Media Collection Development policy adheres to UIW Libraries Collection Development Policy in general. The following guidelines specifically apply to the development of the Media Collection:
1. Currently, UIW Libraries subscribes to Academic Video Online (AVON) database that contains over 80,000 streaming videos, Films on Demand (formerly, Films for Humanities & Sciences) database of more than 38,000 videos in streaming format in all disciplines, Film Platform, a collection of more than 400 award winning films, Docuseek, a collection of highly regarded documentaries, National Theatre Collection (UK), in addition to other specific media databases for health sciences and other disciplines.
2. Media librarian will purchase faculty requests directly related to their current courses in DVD format if available*. The preference for DVDs is without Public Performance Rights (PPR). Copyright law does not require PPR for media materials if they are used in face-to-face classroom teaching. Please place your request at least two months before the date you need the video.
3. UIW Libraries will license streaming videos for courses that are fully online depending on the cost.** UIW Libraries gives preference to videos with perpetual access (life of the file) rather than licensing videos for costly short term access.
4. UIW libraries do not purchase a video already in its collection in another format. In case a video that is available in library's streaming video databases is deleted from the database, the library will purchase the DVD format of the video if available unless it is needed for a course that is fully online. In addition, UIW Libraries will consider providing access to streaming format of a DVD in its collection if it is needed for a course that is fully online depending on availability of funds.
5. Faculty who need a media item without PPR to be displayed publicly at UIW events, must secure the cost of PPR for the item through their respected departments.
6. In addition to faculty requests, the Media librarian selects valuable media materials that enhances the collection.
* Please note that Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu and similar streaming video platforms are no longer releasing their productions on DVD and do not offer an institutional subscription model. Access to their programs is possible only through personal subscriptions. In addition, using a personal account in class is breaching the contract between these services and the subscribers that is illegal.
** Licensing streaming videos is based on the following criteria: