Find Articles - CLST 4310 - Miller - Fall 2024 - LibGuides at University of the Incarnate Word

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Reference entries, articles, and multimedia content covering the most searched and studied international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, and multimedia content covering all major subject disciplines, including general reference, business, health sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, natural sciences, and more.
College In Context This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers, and related multimedia covering a range of subject areas, including humanities, social sciences, literature, science, United States history, world history, and more.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and related content covering a range of subject areas, including biology, business and economics, chemistry, drama, health and medicine, literature, political science, and science and technology.
Historical Periodicals Collection (American Antiquarian Society) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion for the period 1691 - 1912. Includes titles in multiple languages, including French, Spanish, German, and Norwegian.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering arts, business, history, humanities, science, mathematics, social sciences, and more. Also includes search results for and access to images through Artstor.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, reports, and transcripts covering current affairs topics in business, economics, politics, international relations, and environmental science.

News Resources

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Resource for newspapers covering historical news and events, including headlines, editorials, advertisements, comic strips, reviews, and more. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.
News Bank This link opens in a new window
Resource for newspapers and related content covering local, regional, national, and international news and events, with news sources searchable by name, location, type, and language.
News OneFile This link opens in a new window
Newspapers covering U.S. regional, national, and local publications, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Newspaper Archive - Texas Collection This link opens in a new window
Resource for archival newspaper articles from Texas newspapers. Includes historical coverage of both major Texas newspaper titles, as well as an extensive collection of local and regional Texas newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspapers covering national and international news and events. Also includes television and radio transcripts.
New York Times - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the New York Times newspaper covering politics, society, and events for the period 1851 - 2015. Includes full page and article images with searchable full text.

Find Databases

After using the Subject Guide for your area, you may want to find more databases that contain information for your research.

Click on the Databases & Journals tab on the Library's homepage.

Select Databases List to see all of the databases that the library provides access to. You can search by subject or browse A-Z.

Read the descriptions to identify the best resource for your research need.

Databases for Humanities

Article First This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering a range of subjects, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Journals, reviews, and proceedings covering architecture, art, classics, cultural studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and more.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Books and journals covering economics, education, communication, humanities, life sciences, mathematics, natural sciences, social sciences, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes overviews, tables, maps, opposing positions, bibliographies, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and other references covering general reference, business, health sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, natural sciences, and more.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, reports, and other documents covering topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journals covering divorce, family therapy, marriage, family dynamics, and related topics.
Fold3 Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Archival U.S. military records, including stories, photographs, and personal documents covering the time period from the Revolutionary War forward.
Heritage Quest Online This link opens in a new window
Records, directories, books, maps, and other content covering United States and Canada census records, military and bank records, wills and probate records, city directories, land ownership maps, and more. Includes local and family histories and research guides.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more. Includes selected interviews, poetry, reviews, and other content.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and reviews covering the social sciences, focused on anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Includes coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering literature, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric, composition, and more.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journals covering race relations topics, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, community relations, cultural identity, and more.
Readers Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering history, culture, and seminal developments covered in the popular press. Includes records for selected books and monographic materials.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering a range of subjects, including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also includes blogs, podcasts, and websites.
World History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles, images, videos, and more covering world history across all time periods and geographic regions.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is not the first place to look for articles because it does not necessarily contain scholarly articles. Once you have found a citation from a peer-reviewed journal in the databases, Google Scholar can be helpful if you need to find the full-text.

Finding Articles from a Citation

To find a full-text article in a journal when you have a citation (or abstract) OR need to find a particular journal

-Go to the library's homepage.

-Click on the "Databases & Journals" tab

-Select Journals List.

-Type all or part of the journal title to find the specific title.

-When you find a result you want, click "Check Other UIW Resources." Follow the link to full-text and navigate to the issue you are seeking.

-If you do not find a title you are searching for, contact the Reference Desk for help, check Google Scholar, or submit an ILL request.