Find Articles - EDUC 2305 - Fraga - Fall 2024 - LibGuides at University of the Incarnate Word

Select Databases

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and reports covering all fields of education. Content includes empirical or data analyses, literature reviews, methodological works, presentations, and critiques of theories.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering all areas of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, reports, and books covering all areas and levels in the field of education, as well as specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering arts, business, history, humanities, science, mathematics, social sciences, and more. Also includes search results for and access to images through Artstor.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering law and legal topics, including criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, medical law, organized crime, and more. Also includes selected newswires.
News Bank This link opens in a new window
Resource for newspapers and related content covering local, regional, national, and international news and events, with news sources searchable by name, location, type, and language.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspapers covering national and international news and events. Also includes television and radio transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Journals, newspapers, legal references, and business information covering current events, news, U.S. and international companies, federal and state cases, statutes, and more. Also includes television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Journals covering sociology, social work, and related areas, including social policy and services, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, population studies, and more. Includes many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Search Tips - EBSCO

Look for These Database Features - EBSCO

Books in the UIW library are considered scholarly resources.

Journals are considered scholarly resources. Other terms used to describe journals are academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed. Journals share the following characteristics:

• Published for a highly educated audience

• Articles are written by subject matter experts and may be peer-reviewed*

• Illustrations tend to be charts, graphs, tables

• Articles include bibliographies (works cited pages)

• Few or no advertisements

* Article manuscripts are read and reviewed by members of an editorial board who determine whether or not the article is suitable for publication. See the following tab Peer Review Process for more information.

Magazines are considered "popular" resources. They usually have the following characteristics:

• Written for a general audience

• Written by a staff of writers

• Lots of color illustrations

• Contain advertisements

EDUC 2305 - Fraga - Fall 2024: Find Articles

Select Databases

Search Tips - EBSCO

Look for These Database Features - EBSCO

Scholarly and Popular Sources