Find Articles - PSYC 3387- Farias - Fall 2024 - LibGuides at University of the Incarnate Word

Select Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other content covering psychology and related disciplines, including applied, developmental and educational psychology, social psychology, and more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Journals covering general psychology, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology, and the behavioral aspects of related disciplines.
MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals covering a range of areas in health and biomedicine, including medicine, nursing, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and reports covering all fields of education. Content includes empirical or data analyses, literature reviews, methodological works, presentations, and critiques of theories.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and reports covering business, economics, management, trade, accounting, finance, and more. Includes business case studies and dissertations. Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.

Search Tips - ProQuest

Look for These Database Features - ProQuest

Testing Instruments

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Reviews covering contemporary testing instruments. Includes Tests In Print, which provides information on known English language tests, including test purpose, population, scores, price, publisher, authors, and more.
PsycTESTS (APA) This link opens in a new window
Tests covering a variety of test types and research instruments, including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures. Includes actual test instruments and items for download and use in research and teaching.

Scholarly Resources

Books in the UIW Libraries are considered scholarly resources.

Journals are considered scholarly resources. Other terms used to describe journals are academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed. Journals share the following characteristics:

• Published for a highly educated audience

• Articles are written by subject matter experts and may be peer-reviewed*

• Illustrations tend to be charts, graphs, tables

• Articles include bibliographies (works cited pages)

• Few or no advertisements

* Article manuscripts are read and reviewed by members of an editorial board who determine whether or not the article is suitable for publication. See the following tab Peer Review Process for more information.

Popular Resources

Magazines and newspapers are considered "popular" resources. They are usually considered reliable, but are not peer-reviewed.

Popular resources usually have the following characteristics:

• Written for a general audience

• Written by a staff of writers

• Lots of color illustrations

• Contain advertisements