Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Brackenridge Pharmacy Library: Evidence-Based Practice

The following is a selective list of resources that focus on the curriculum and interests of the students and faculty of the Feik School of Pharmacy.

What is Evidence-Based Practice?

Evidence based practice (EBP) is the conscientious use of current best evidence in making decisions about patient care (Sackett, Straus, Richardson, Rosenberg, & Haynes, 2000)

The three components (the "triad approach to EBP) are

  1. The best external evidence (systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, best practice guidelines, clinical practice guidelines) that support a change in clinical practice.
  2. Individual practitioner's clinical expertise.
  3. Patient's preference.

The "PICO" question helps to define a specific clinical or health-related question to be answered.

  • P: Patient or Problem
  • I: Intervention
  • C: Comparison or control
  • O: Outcome(s)

Two helpful tutorials from Yale University:

Framing Evidence with PICO

Finding Evidence in PubMed

 

Want to know more about EBP in Pharmacy?

EBP Information Types

Databases index EBP as a Document Type, Publication Type, or an Article Type.

EBP Databases and Resources

UIW Databases

Additional Resources

What's in a Name:??

Literature Review:

  • Introduces context and current thinking, often without a specific question, is general and covers several aspects of a topic.
  • Finds papers through a fairly random process, usually searching only a few databases. Use of grey literature common, but not usually systematic.
  • Papers are read, ‘take home’ messages used in the review.
  • May include 150 papers or more, depending on the topic.
  • Writer interprets the meaning of the results.
  • Prose paper, occasionally supported with diagrams.
  • Actions/directions informed by evidence of various kinds drawn from included papers.

Systematic Review:

  • Uses a precise question to produce evidence to underpin a piece of research. A standā€alone piece of research, it should be conducted prior to undertaking further research, particularly in higher degree theses.
  • Searches of several specified databases using precise search terms; a similar systematic search of grey literature sometimes included, depending on the question.
  • Data extraction tool used to identify precise pieces of information; two or more researchers undertake data extraction.
  • Usually less than 50 papers; often fewer than 10.
  • Recognised, referenced, methods for data analysis; includes analysis of methods, rigour of conduct of research, strength of evidence, and so on.
  • PRISMA/CONSORT or similar chart/table of included papers.
  • Actions/directions are based on evidence from reviewed papers.

Information from Wiley Online Library

Meta-Analysis:

Once data of primary interest have been exhaustively collected, it is time to run a meta-analysis. A meta-analysis provides a powerful tool of combined analysis for all extracted data and gives weighted values for each study's effect sizes. A meta-analysis also provides whether a publication bias is present or not in assessing positive and negative studies e.g. using L'Abbé plot or inverted funnel-plots or even forest plots. Sometimes, a systematic review may be followed by simple pooled analysis when data are not sufficient. 

 

chat loading...