LibGuides: Brackenridge Pharmacy Library: Natural Products

UIW Resources

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health sciences database for magazines and journals covering complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness, such as acupuncture, chiropractic, herbalism, homeopathy, nutrition, osteopathy, and others. Also includes book excerpts, reports, and other content.
Daily Med This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy and nursing database for listings and information covering marketed human and animal drugs in the United States, including medication package inserts content and labeling. Also includes FDA drug guidance, compliance and regulatory Information and Structured Product Labeling (SPL) resources.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy database for drug, disease, and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, patient education, infectious diseases, alternative medicines, and more. Includes extensive range of calculators.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug and clinical reference information covering drug identification, IV compatibility, interactions, comparisons, patient education, and more.
Natural & Alternative Treatments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information covering alternative and holistic approaches to healthcare and wellness Includes sections on conditions, herbs and supplements, alternative therapies, and more.
Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Nutrition database for manuals, guides, and other content covering evidence-based nutrition care and diet information for a range of diseases, conditions, and other topics Includes calculators, a formulary, and screening and assessment forms.

FSOP Books

Natural Products and Cardiovascular Health
Call Number: WG120 N285 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Tyler's Honest Herbal
Call Number: WB 925 F754t 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Dietary Supplements
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2005

Web Resources

About Herbs, Botanicals and Other Products
These monographs from Memorial Sloan Kettering focus on herbs and supplements used by cancer patients.
Dietary Supplements Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. with a Web-based user interface that provides ready access to label information. It was developed to serve the research community and as a resource for health care providers and the public. It can be an educational and research tool for students, academics, and other professionals.
Drug Information Portal
The Drug Information Portal offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information. Search results include links to related drug information in MedlinePlus.
FDA: Dietary Supplements
FDA regulates both finished dietary supplement products and dietary ingredients. FDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products. Under the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA):
Henrietta's Herbal
This website includes an image gallery of herbs, articles on herbs, older classic texts in several languages, information on plant names and a blog. This is a freely available treasure chest of information.
Herbal Safety
This website is created and maintained by the College of Pharmacy at the University of Texas Al Paso and Austin. It includes scientific monographs, fact sheets, presentations, educational materials and information on Mexican products. Some of the information is also available in Spanish.
MedFacts Natural Products
The MedFacts Natural Products Professional database is a comprehensive source of information on traditional and/or conventional uses of natural products. A basic overview of each product is provided (including dosages, possible drug interactions, side effects and contraindications) along with safety and/or efficacy ratings from Wolters Kluwer Health.
MedlinePlus Herbs and Supplements
Patient handouts from the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database are freely available here along with information provided by government agencies such as NCCAM, National Cancer Institute, CDC and more. Entries discuss the effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions for herbs and dietary supplements
Medscape: Herbals & Supplements
More than 7100 monographs are provided for prescription and over-the-counter drugs, as well as for corresponding brand-name drugs, herbals, and supplements. Drug images are also included.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
(formerly NCCAM)
Highlights include news, herbs at a glance, and articles on health problems and their treatment with CAM therapies. Information is also available in Spanish.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Fact sheets on herb and supplement products. In addition they generate reports of supplements of interest or concern. A mobile app is available called My Dietary Supplements and numerous links take users to sources of additional information.
USP Herbal Medicine Compendium
The Herbal Medicines Compendium (HMC), published by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (USP), is a freely available, online resource that provides standards for herbal ingredients used in herbal medicines. Standards are expressed primarily in monographs.