Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Practice Guidelines in Library Databases
In many of the UIW Library databases you can can limit your search to just practice guidelines - look for a limiter called "guidelines" or "practice guidelines," often found under Publication Types. If there is not an appropriate publication type, use the terms "guidelines" as a search term with your topic.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering nursing, public health, diseases, medicine, and related areas. Includes evidence-based care sheets and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Reviews and reports covering child health, genetic disorders, infectious diseases, mental health, public health, and more. Includes clinical answers, protocols, and trials.
Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new window
Journals covering nursing and allied health, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Reviews, reports, and other materials covering evidence-based healthcare in cancer care, diagnostic imaging, infection control, pediatrics, and more.
MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals covering a range of areas in health and biomedicine, including medicine, nursing, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Database for finding journals, books, and other literature covering biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, and more.
Practice Guidelines from Specific Organizations & Collections
Free Online Resources
Many guidelines are available online through the government, or through relevant organization that produce guidelines and white papers.
ECRI Institute Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Guideline Central is currently working with a handful of other organizations to establish a new non-profit initiative which will aim to fill the gap left by the sudden closure of AHRQ’s National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC). This new initiative will include a database of quick-reference guideline summaries, along with a focus on developing a repository of various guideline implementation tools (including machine-computable guidelines for EHRs).
HSTAT: Health Services/Techology Assessment Texts
Free Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.
Medscape Clinical Practice Guidelines
New Clinical Practice Guidelines are published monthly after evaluation of guidelines recently released in the United States and internationally by major medical groups and organizations. Following systematic review, evidence-based recommendations are provided in an abbreviated format, with particular attention paid to specific areas of patient care such as workup, diagnosis, and treatment. For more extensive information and to review the recommendations in their entirety, see the reference(s) provided for each Clinical Practice Guideline and the resource(s) contained within.