Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertations & Theses Global Database: Home

This guide provides tips on using this database effectively.

Dissertations & Theses Global

Using the Database

The Dissertations & Theses database contains the full text of many dissertations.  Often the most useful part of a dissertation is its Works Cited pages.  Using someone else's bibliography is an excellent way of furthering your research with little effort on your part.

 ·   Use the default settings for a general search on your topic.

o      Enclose phrases in quotation marks – “information literacy"

§      Avoid long phrases; you are searching for terminology the author might have used.

o     Use the truncation symbol,  * , (shift 8) to search for all forms of a word (librar* = library, libraries, librarian, librarians)

o     Use Boolean operators – and, or, not. 

§      and - all the terms/phrases entered must appear in results.  

§      or - any or all of the terms/phrases entered can appear in results. 

§      not - used to exclude terms/phrases from results.

 ·   Click the title links to view abstracts.

 ·   Click the PDF link to view the entire dissertation.

Guide Author

Profile Photo
Leslie N. Todd
she/her/hers
chat loading...
Contact:
University of the Incarnate Word
4301 Broadway CPO# 297
San Antonio, TX 78209
210-829-3841
todd@uiwtx.edu
chat loading...