LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Find Journal Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is not the first place to look for articles because it does not necessarily contain scholarly articles. Once you have found a citation from a peer-reviewed journal in the databases, Google Scholar can be helpful if you need to find the full-text.

Ways to Get Articles for Free

Suggested Databases

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Journals covering criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Journals covering sociology, social work, and related areas, including social policy and services, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, population studies, and more. Includes many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering a range of subjects, including science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, music, psychology, philosophy, technology, and more. Also includes books, reports, and speeches.

Criminology Collection Publication Search
The Criminology Collection includes the Criminal Justice Database, a full-text and index database supporting research on crime geared towards scholars and career criminal justice professionals. It also includes National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, which is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, to index research on criminal Justice.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and other references covering general reference, business, health sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, natural sciences, and more.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and reviews covering the social sciences, focused on anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Includes coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering arts, business, history, humanities, science, mathematics, social sciences, and more. Also includes search results for and access to images through Artstor.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Journals, newspapers, legal references, and business information covering current events, news, U.S. and international companies, federal and state cases, statutes, and more. Also includes television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other content covering psychology and related disciplines, including applied, developmental and educational psychology, social psychology, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journals covering sociology, social work, human services, and related areas. Includes Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms, which provides hierarchical and alphabetical listings of main term descriptors.