Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UIW Medical Library: Books & Journals

E-Book Collections

UIW Libraries have many E-books that may be used 24 hours a day and even from remote locations.  They are searchable which helps find topics quickly.  However, keep in mind that many E-books may only be used by one person at a time.  Close the book and the browser when you are finished reading.

Here are some collections of E-books:

NestSearch

This search allows you to quickly find an article or book from the library catalog as well as from databases but it is not a targeted search.  If you want to narrow the search to a specific format such as a print book or an article, use the filters on the left side of the result page.

Key Osteopathic Specific Resources

Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad

If the UIW libraries doesn't own the material needed, please try ILLiad, the InterLibrary loan service at UIW. You must register for this service on the main UIW Library homepage: http://www.uiw.edu/library/. Remember to plan your work to allow plenty of time for an item to be sent from another library. This could take several weeks depending on a variety of factors.

When looking at search results in UIW databases, the cardinal head is a link to search all databases for the full text of a particular article.  Additionally, if UIW Libraries do not have the full text, it will link to the ILLiad interface.  After logging in, the entire form will be filled out.  You would simply click submit to begin the process.

TexShare Card Program

The UIW Mabee library is a member of the TexShare card program. This allows our patrons to visit other participating libraries and check out materials if they are not available in the UIW library. Our patrons must get their TexShare Card from a librarian at the UIW School of Osteopathic Medicine Library's reference desk during regular library hours. 

Medical Journals

Search For Journals

Journals List - Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in electronic and print formats.

Popular Medical Journals

Contacts and Location

Contacts

Reference/Circulation: (210) 619-7038
somlibrary@uiwtx.edu

Medical Informatics Librarian: (210) 283-6971
dfield@uiwtx.edu

Director: (210) 619-7039
yaguchi@uiwtx.edu


Location

UIW Medical Library is located at the UIW School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM), Building 3, 2nd floor.

Brooks City Base
7615 Kennedy Hill
San Antonio, TX 78235

chat loading...