Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar is not the first place to look for articles because it does not necessarily contain scholarly articles. Once you have found a citation from a peer-reviewed journal in the databases, Google Scholar can be helpful if you need to find the full-text.
Finding Articles from a Citation
To find a full-text article in a journal when you have a citation (or abstract) OR need to find a particular journal
-Go to the library's homepage.
-Click on the "Databases & Journals" tab
-Select Journals List.
-Type all or part of the journal title to find the specific title.
-When you find a result you want, click "Check Other UIW Resources." Follow the link to full-text and navigate to the issue you are seeking.
-If you do not find a title you are searching for, contact the Reference Desk for help, check Google Scholar, or submit an ILL request.
Use a database to locate articles on your topic. Many of our databases have HTML and/or PDF links to the full text of the articles cited. If you don't find text links for the articles you need, see the Does the Library Have This? tab for tips and information on locating the text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database for finding journals, books, and other content covering psychology and related disciplines, including applied, developmental and educational psychology, social psychology, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and reports covering business, economics, management, trade, accounting, finance, and more. Includes business case studies and dissertations. Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database for dissertations and theses covering the arts, business and economics, education, humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, natural sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, health and medical sciences. Includes previews of content where available.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Education database for finding journals, books, and reports covering all fields of education covering empirical or data analyses, literature reviews, methodological works, presentations, or critiques of theories. Also includes papers, case studies, data profiles, and other content.
MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding journals covering a range of areas in health and biomedicine, including medicine, nursing, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Journals covering general psychology, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology, and the behavioral aspects of related disciplines.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology database for finding journals covering psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, emotion and behavior, counseling, observational and experimental methods, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Database for finding books and journals covering a range of academic disciplines, including humanities, physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology database for finding journals covering sociology, social work, human services, and related areas. Includes Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms, which provides hierarchical and alphabetical listings of main term descriptors.