LibGuides: Chemistry Resources: Articles (Databases)

How to Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If an article isn't available in full-text, we might have e-access another way or have it in print.

If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan is a free service.

Books are delivered to the library for pickup.
Scanned images of articles may be delivered to your ILLiad account OR photocopies of articles may be delivered to the library for pickup.

Set up an account using the ILLiad Interlibary Loan link on the library's Web site, using your Blackboard/student e-mail username and password to log in.

Other Search Engines and Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PubChem
Citations
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Chemistry Databases

Databases are how articles are indexed (it just tells you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of the article). These databases index articles that are related to this subject area.

UIW A-Z Database List
The full list of databases is available on the library website
University of Incarnate Word LibGuides
There are also guides available to walk you through doing research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text
1965-Present
Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language, linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text
1996-present
Includes chemical and related sciences journals published by ACS from 1996 to the present.
ACS Archives provide access to titles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995
MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Citations
1966-present
Bibliographic database containing references to journal articles in the life sciences with a concentration on medicine, nursing, and other health-related fields. Records are indexed with National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Chemical information resource for records covering mostly small molecules' chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. A self-paced PubChem tutorial is available.
As of December 2022, ChemIDplus and Drug Information Portal Content are only available through PubChem.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Some full textPubMed is a database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes all MEDLINE content plus additional citations to out-of-scope articles, some pre-MEDLINE content, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Full text
1998-present
The worlds largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Some full text
Searches Chemical Abstracts Service databases which include biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and others. Please see your instructor for registration instructions to use this database. This resource can be accessed by only a limited number of users at a time.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and citation information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index coverage from 1992-present, and Journal Citation Reports® on the Web: Science Edition.

Related Databases

NMRShiftDB
This online NMR database is for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. It also has peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users.
ChemBioFinder
Free database that searches common or chemical name, molecular weight, molecular formula, evaporation rate, structure, or CAS registry number. Information includes melting, boiling and flash points, solubility, vapor density, structure, and more.
Common Chemistry
Search Chemical Names and CAS Registry Numbers for 8,000 chemicals of widespread general public interest.

Just Starting?

Just beginning your research? Start with these when looking for articles in this subject area.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder indexes chemical literature in various fields of study such as biology, chemistry, geoscience, physics, engineering, agriculture, medicine, life sciences, etc. It consists of citations, abstracts, and the citation analyses of the Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) and the medical literature of PubMed (Medline). It also links to the full text of articles when they are available.It requires setting up a SciFinder account before using it. Current UIW students, faculty & staff can setup an account while on campus by your self or with assistance.

PubChem

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. A self-paced PubChem tutorial is available.

As of December 2022, ChemIDplus and Drug Information Portal Content are only available through PubChem.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window

Web of Science provides bibliographic and citation information in the sciences. Includes Science Citation Index from 1992-present, Journal Citation Reports® on the Web: Science Edition, and BIOSIS Previews from 2002-present.