LibGuides: Communication Arts: OER for Communication Arts

NAC for Communication Arts

NAC = No Additional Cost, which includes library-licensed resources.

Gale eBooks
Books covering business, environment, history, literature, medicine, religion, social science, and more.
Ebook Collection (EBSCO)
Books covering a range of academic disciplines, including health sciences, social sciences, business, and humanities, as well as general interest topics.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Books covering a range of subject areas and disciplines. Includes e-Libro Spanish language ebooks and Science and Technology Ebook Collection.

What is OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) is defined by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as:

...any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. OERs range from textbooks to curricula, syllabi, lecture notes, assignments, tests, projects, audio, video and animation.

Defining OER_NAC_LCCM
UIW defined terms for open educational resources (OER), No additional cost (NAC), Low-cost course materials (LCCM)

OER for Communication Arts

MERLOT-Communication Arts
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) was started back in 1997 at Sonoma State University. It is a community of staff, volunteers, and members who work together in various ways to provide users of OER (Open Educational Resource) teaching and learning materials with a wealth of services and functions that can enhance their instructional experience.
Open Textbook Library-Communication Studies
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of openly licensed and peer-reviewed textbooks available for free use, adaptation, and distribution. It is hosted by the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota.
Pressbooks-Communication Arts
The Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 8,420 open access books published across 206 unique networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.