LibGuides: Brackenridge Pharmacy Library: More Resources

Tutorials

Online tutorial and Quick Tours of PubMed. Quick Tours are short, animated Flash movies on specific PubMed tools such as MeSH.

Google Scholar

Toxicology/Hazardous Substances

The following databases used to be part of the NIH TOXNET collection of hazardous substance information databases. TOXNET has been retired, but the following individual resources are still available:

DART: Developmental Toxicology Literature (now a subset of the the PubMed database.
Hazardous Substances Database: Comprehensive Toxicology Information (now a subset of the PubChem database.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Databases (now part of the NCBI "bookshelf")
LiverTox: Drug-Induced liver injury (now part of the NCBI "bookshelf")
TOXLINE: Toxicology Literature (now a subset of the PubMed database)

Books in the FSOP Library:

Toxicological Testing Handbook
Call Number: QV607 T7555 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, 9th Edition
Publication Date: 2018-

Internet Sources of Interest

DailyMed
This database of FDA approved labels (package inserts) provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. Drug labeling on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read. Currently this Web site contains over 5400 approved prescription drugs.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database for freely accessible, Open Access, peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of academic disciplines.

A-Z Drug Facts for the Professional
DrugAbuse.com
A Coalition Against Drug Abuse site dedicated to information on and treatment referrals for drug abuse.
Drug Information Portal
This resource provides the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers with a gateway to current, accurate, and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. The Drug Information Portal offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information, with links to individual resources with drug information and summaries tailored to various audiences.
Drugs.com
Drugs.com is a consumer-oriented, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Provides free, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. Includes features such as pill identifier, interactions checker, drug side effects, and new drug approvals.
Drug Shortages
Drug Shortage Resource Center, provided by the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists.
Epocrates
Epocrates offers products for mobile devices within various price ranges. Epocrates Rx is the free drug and formulary reference that puts continually updated, peer-reviewed drug information at your fingertips. Instant access to drug prescribing and safety information for more than 3,300 brand and generic drugs is available.
FDA Medication Guides
Medication Guides are paper handouts that come with many prescription medicines. The guides address issues that are specific to particular drugs and drug classes, and they contain FDA-approved information that can help patients avoid serious adverse events.
FDA Professional Drug Information
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. The FDA is also responsible for advancing the public health by helping to speed innovations that make medicines and foods more effective, safer, and more affordable; and helping the public get the accurate, science-based information they need to use medicines and foods to improve their health.
Kids Count
Provided by he Annie E. Casey Foundation, this collection of data measures relating to children offers access to hundreds of measures of child well-being, including national and state profiles and state rankings on 10 important indicators of child well-being, and allows users to customize and share information.
MedFacts Natural Products
TOXLearn
A multi-module tool providing an introduction to fundamental toxicological principles and concepts.
United States Adopted Names (USAN) Program
Provides a listing of the names published by the United States Adopted Names (USAN) Program in the USP Dictionary of USAN and International Nonproprietary Names.

Also of Interest

Selected Audiovisual Material at Mabee Library

The Art of the interview (DVD) 070.43 A7848

Basics of how to plan, write and give a winning presentation (DVD) 808.51 B3118

First impressions: etiquette and work habits for new employees (DVD) 395.52 F5274

Organic chemistry/ Standard Deviants (DVD, 3 vols.) 547 D3112

Pharmacists: unsung heroes (DVD) 615.1092 P5363

Telephone courtesy pays (VHS) 395.59 T268

You may limit your search to find a specific multimedia format. See the Audiovisuals Search Tips guide for more information.The Mabee Library has a generous collection of audiovisuals for use by students and faculty.

Research at UIW

IRB forms and training information are available through Blackboard

Under the Organizations Tab: Colleges & Schools >> School of Graduate Studies & Research > > GradStudiesResearch >> IRB >>Institutional Review Board (IRB)