Skip to Main Content

Master of Health Administration: Writing & Citing

Citation Generators & Bibliography Managers

Avoiding Plagiarism

Quick tips:

  • Keep track of your sources - use good notes or a citation manager
  • Ask your instructor, a librarian, or the writing center for help
  • Don't procrastinate - research takes time
  • When in doubt, cite

Magazine or Journal Article Reference List Entries - APA 7th

General Format:

Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue),
      pages–pages. URL/DOI (if available).

 

With a DOI

Baniya, S., & Weech, S. (2019). Data and experience design: Negotiating community-oriented
      digital research with service-learning. Purdue Journal of Service-Learning and
      International Engagement, 6(1), 11-16. https://doi.org/10.5703/1288284316979

 

Freely available URL, not link from subscription database

Carney, M. A., & Krause, K. C. (2019). Cultivating a Network of Citizen-Scientists to Track Change
      in the Sonora-Arizona Foodshed. Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems,
      and Community Development, 8(4), 23-24.
      https://doaj.org/article/000129a3acf64e418c0d63c2cfa02180

 

Article without a DOI or freely accessible URL/Print Article
(Give name of database)

Husain, A. N., Colby, T. V., Ordóñez, N. G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P. T, Chirieac, L. R.,
      Churg, A., Galeateau-Salle, F., Gibbs, A. R., Gown, A. M., Hammar, S. P.,
      Lizky, A. A., Roggli, V. L., Travis, W. D., & Wick, M. R. (2009).
      Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives
      of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317–1331. Academic Search Complete.

UIW Graduate Writing Support

Office of Research & Graduate Studies supports graduate & professional students' writing development through personal assistance and presentations. Please access their website for information about how to set consultation appointments.

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager.

  • Create your own personal database of references.
  • Organize references with folders for each project.
  • Import references from library databases or websites.
  • Use these references in writing papers.
  • Download plugins for Microsoft Word to format in-text citations and a bibliography.
  • Citation styles include: MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, MLA, and Harvard.
  • Share citation folders with others for group projects.

For more information, see the RefWorks Research Guide.

Staff LADR