Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUSI 3348 Studies in World Music: Home

Audiovisual equipment available at Mabee Library and the Music Department Listening Lab

Audiovisual equipment available at the Mabee Library (Main campus):

  • 13 computers at the library's computer lab (Cardinal's Nest) have DVD/CD players.
  • The library has 4 external DVD/CD drives for check out.
  • The library has 2 DVD/Blu-Ray/CD multi region/format players for check out.
  • The library has several headphones for check out.

Audiovisual equipment available at the Music Department  Listening Lab:

  • Three listening stations with CD / LP (Vinyl) record / Audio Cassette players.
  • The Music Department Listening Lab is open 10-15 hours a week. The hours of operation is posted on the lab for each semester.

Journals and WebResources

CDs in Library's Audiovisual Collection

The Library's Audiovisual Collection contains more than 100 CDs of music of different countries of the world. Please search the library's online catalog for each country. Then limit your search to Audio (music).

Collections:

Excursions in World Music / Bruno Nettl (2 CDs) -- CD-0275 + Book: MT6 .E98 2001  

Worlds of music: an introduction to the music of world's peoples / Jeff Todd Titon (4 CDs) -- CD-0276 + Book: ML3545 .W67 2002  

DVDs in Library's Audiovisual Collection

The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. 30 DVDs. Tokyo: Distributed by Multicultural Media, 2005. (DVD M1627.J8, plus 9 accompanying books, has historical video recordings of music and dance from all over the world—highly recommend referring to for blog posts and/or larger projects)

Note: The above Anthology is now available in streaming format without the accompanying books. Please search the library's catalog (NestSearch)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Africa, 2005. (3 DVDs + Guides: M1830.J8)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of  Music and Dance of Americas, 2005. (6 DVDs + Guides: M1680.J8)

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Europe, 2005. (2 DVDs + Guides: M1698.J8)

Reference

Nettl, Bruno, Ruth Stone, James Porter, and Timothy Rice. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Publishing, 1998. 780.3 G233 + 9 CDs (CD-0231 v.1-9)

 

The Garland handbook of African music -- ML350.G54 2008

The Garland handbook of Latin American music -- ML199.G36 2008

The Garland handbook of Southeast Asian music -- ML330.G37 2008

 

 

Books on World Music at UIW Libraries

Search the library's online catalog (NestSearch) to find books about world music. Select advanced search option. Choose subject as your search field and type world music in search box.

Music Databases

Media Librarian

Profile Photo
Farhad Moshiri
Contact:
Library-Room 205
210-829-3842
Audiovisual Collection, Music Collection, Copyright. Library liaison to Art, Modern Languages, Music, and Theater Arts Departments
chat loading...