The Research Sidekick: Elevate Your Research through the SOM Library!

Literature Review Types

Each semester, students visit my office expressing interest in conducting a systematic review. However, a full systematic review usually requires a well-trained team and can take anywhere from 1 to 2 years to complete—far more time than most students have available.

For reference, here are key resources on the Systematic Review process:

• Steps for writing a systematic review
• Cochrane Handbooks for different types of systematic reviews
• What is a systematic review? 
• Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach
• Example - Stiff Landings, Core Stability, and Dynamic Knee Valgus: A Systematic Review on Documented Anterior Cruciate Ligament Ruptures in Male and Female Athletes.

Systematic reviews are a family of reviews using rigorous methodologies, with common types including standard Systematic Reviews, which provide a comprehensive overview of a topic; Scoping Reviews, which map the breadth of a topic’s literature; Rapid Reviews, which use expedited methods for urgent questions; Meta-analyses, which combine quantitative data to produce a single effect estimate; and Umbrella Reviews, which synthesize findings from multiple systematic reviews.

Given the number of questions I receive, I thought it would be helpful to highlight some different types of literature reviews—including the “mini-systematic review.” Until recently, I wasn’t aware this was a recognized type, but it seems to be gaining traction for certain purposes.

Before beginning your research, visit PubMed and search for articles that align with the type of review you intend to conduct (e.g., systematic review, scoping review, narrative review). This will help you better understand the structure, expectations, and scope of that review type—and confirm whether it’s the right fit for your research goals. 

You’ll find an overview of the mini-systematic steps at the bottom of this blog.
___________________________________________________

See additional review types in the Libguide listed below.

UIW Medical Library Literature Review types – scroll to the bottom of that page.

Review type: Critical Review - Steps
Write a Critical Review of a Scientific Journal Article
Writing a Critical Review
Example - Lateral Patellar Dislocation: A Critical Review and Update of Evidence-Based Rehabilitation Practice Guidelines and Expected Outcomes 
Time – 6-18 months, 1 or more people.

Critical review: This approach involves a detailed analysis and critique of existing literature, suitable for a solo researcher with deep subject-matter expertise.

• Purpose: To evaluate the strengths, weaknesses, and contradictions in the literature and offer a critical perspective.
• Methodology: Involves detailed analysis and assessment of research credibility.
• Best for: Challenging established assumptions and opening new research avenues.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 

Review type: Literature Review/Overview/Narrative Review - Steps
Steps in the Literature Review Process
Narrative Reviews
Example - Magnesium and Fibromyalgia: A Literature Review
Time – 1-3 months or longer

Narrative review: This is the most common type of literature review and is well-suited for a single author.

• Purpose: Summarizes existing literature to provide a broad overview, context for a research topic, and identify gaps.
• Methodology: Less structured and more flexible than other types, relying on the author's expertise and judgment to select and interpret research.
• Best for: Exploring new or complex topics, providing background for a larger paper, or gaining a general understanding of a subject.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 

Review type: Mapping Review/Systematic Map - Steps
Access to primary and community health-care services for people 16 years and over with intellectual disabilities: a mapping and targeted systematic review. Chp 2: The mapping review methods.
Example - Mapping current research trends on neuromuscular risk factors of non-contact ACL injury.
Time – 6-12 months or longer takes a team

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 

Review type: Meta-analysis - Steps
Ten simple rules for carrying out and writing meta-analyses.
A step by step guide for conducting a systematic review and meta-analysis with simulation data.
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis: A Guide for Beginners.
Example - Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS): systematic review and meta-analysis of measurement properties.
Time – Several month to several years takes a team

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _  

Review type: Rapid Review – Steps
Rapid Review Protocol
Rapid Review Guidebook
Rapid literature review: definition and methodology
Rapid Reviews
Example - A rapid review of the impact of COVID-19 on the mental health of healthcare workers: implications for supporting psychological well-being.
Time – approx. 6 months, 1 or more people.

Rapid review: This expedited approach prioritizes speed over exhaustive coverage and is manageable for one person under time constraints.

• Purpose: To provide timely insights for decision-making by quickly synthesizing relevant research.
• Methodology: Involves a simplified systematic process, which may mean using a narrower search or limiting the number of databases.
• Best for: Urgent policy or practice-based questions where a comprehensive, systematic review is not feasible.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Review type: Scoping review – Steps
Steps for Conducting a Scoping Review
Scoping Reviews
Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach.
What kind of systematic review should I conduct? A proposed typology and guidance for systematic reviewers in the medical and health sciences.
Example - Double-Leg and Single-Leg Jump Test Reference Values for Athletes With and Without Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction Who Play Popular Pivoting Sports, Including Soccer and Basketball: A Scoping Review 
Time – 6-12 months, 1 or more people.

Scoping review: This type of review aims to map the key concepts and extent of research on a broad topic, rather than answering a specific question.

• Purpose: To explore the range and nature of research, clarify concepts, and identify gaps in the literature.
• Methodology: Systematic in its searching but does not require a quality assessment of included studies.
• Best for: Preliminary research on a new topic or before undertaking a full systematic review.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ __

Review type: Umbrella review – Steps
Ten simple rules for conducting umbrella reviews
Umbrella Reviews
Example - Effectiveness of multicomponent lower extremity injury prevention programmes in team-sport athletes: an umbrella review 
Time – several months to a year depending on what type it is, recommended to have at least 2 people or more.

______________________________________________________

Mini Systematic review – 
What is it?

• A mini-systematic review provides a concise summary of recent research on a specific topic, typically with a narrower scope than a full systematic review.
• It focuses on a single question and often utilizes a limited number of databases and a shorter timeframe for the literature search.
• The goal is to provide a focused and updated overview of the evidence in a given area, particularly useful when there are limited resources or time constraints. 

Key differences from a full systematic review

• Scope: Mini-systematic reviews typically address a single question or a very focused area, while full systematic reviews often cover multiple questions and a broader scope.
• Databases: Mini-systematic reviews may utilize a limited number of databases, whereas full systematic reviews strive to be more comprehensive by searching a wider range of databases.
• Timeframe: Mini-systematic reviews often focus on a limited timeframe of publications, while full systematic reviews aim to synthesize all valid evidence regardless of publication date.
• Resources: Mini-systematic reviews are often conducted with limited resources, such as those available to a postgraduate student. 

When is it appropriate?

Mini-systematic reviews are useful in situations where a full systematic review may not be feasible or necessary, such as:

• Emerging or rapidly evolving fields: When there's a need to quickly synthesize recent findings on new or rapidly changing topics.
• Limited resources or time: When time and resources are constrained, but a systematic approach to literature review is still desired.
• Initial assessment of a topic: To help determine if a topic is amenable to a full systematic review or to organize and direct the approach for future research.
• Updating existing knowledge: To provide an updated overview of key areas and address gaps or inconsistencies in the literature. 

Considerations

• While mini-systematic reviews are designed to be concise, it's crucial to maintain rigor and transparency in the methodology to ensure the reliability and validity of the findings.
• The limitations of the narrower scope and timeframe should be acknowledged and discussed when interpreting the results. 

In essence, a mini-systematic review is a valuable tool for summarizing evidence in a focused and timely manner, especially when a full systematic review is not practicable. However, authors should be mindful of the trade-offs between scope and rigor, and clearly articulate the methodology employed to ensure transparency and reproducibility. 

Key disadvantage 
         One key disadvantage of conducting a mini-systematic review (also known as a mini-review) in medicine is the potential for increased bias and reduced comprehensiveness compared to a full systematic review.

Mini-systematic review steps:

1. Define the Research Question: 

• Start with a clear, focused research question, often framed using PICO (Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) framework. 
• Consider the scope and feasibility of a mini review, ensuring the question is answerable within the constraints of a smaller review. 
• Conduct preliminary searches to identify existing reviews and refine the question. 

2. Develop a Protocol: 

• Create a detailed protocol outlining the review's objectives, inclusion/exclusion criteria, search strategy, data extraction forms, and quality assessment methods. 
• This protocol serves as a roadmap and ensures consistency throughout the review process. 
• Consider registering the protocol with a registry like PROSPERO (International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews). 

3. Search for Relevant Studies: 

• Conduct comprehensive searches of relevant databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science, Cochrane Library, CINAHL Complete).
• Develop a search strategy using keywords and MeSH terms relevant to the research question. 
• Consider searching grey literature (e.g., conference abstracts, theses) to minimize publication bias. 

4. Select Studies: 

• Apply the predefined inclusion/exclusion criteria to the retrieved citations. 
• Screen titles and abstracts, then full-text articles to identify eligible studies. 
• Document the selection process using a PRISMA flow diagram. 

5. Extract Data: 

• Develop a data extraction form based on the review's objectives and the protocol. 
• Extract relevant information from included studies, such as study characteristics, participant demographics, interventions, outcomes, and risk of bias assessments. 
• Consider using a data extraction tool to facilitate this process. 

6. Assess Study Quality: 

• Evaluate the methodological quality of included studies using validated tools (e.g., Cochrane Risk of Bias tool, AMSTAR 2). 
• Assess potential sources of bias and limitations in each study. 
• Document the quality assessment process and results. 

7. Synthesize the Evidence: 

• Synthesize the findings of the included studies, either qualitatively or quantitatively (e.g., meta-analysis). 
• Consider using forest plots or other visual aids to present the results. 
• Assess the consistency and strength of the evidence. 

8. Report the Findings: 

• Write a concise and clear report of the review, including the methods, results, and conclusions. 
• Use the PRISMA guidelines to structure the report. 
• Consider writing a plain language summary for a broader audience.

Mini-review: Criteria
Introduction to Mini-Review
Example - Vestibular Rehabilitation Effectiveness for Adults With Mild Traumatic Brain Injury/Concussion: A Mini-Systematic Review
Time – several months, 1 or more people.

______________________________________________________

Once you have a clearer idea of the type of review you’d like to pursue, please come see me so we can discuss the next steps together.

Should you wish for me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or to you individually, please don’t hesitate to reach out. I would be glad to assist.

Happy Searching! 

Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Medical Informatics Librarian

Most of us, myself included search in a browser using just a few words or a phrase to find an answer to a question. And honestly, we’re really good at this. Need directions to the local hospital? Easy. Want to know the price of a specific item? Easy. Looking for where to buy the trendiest new product? Easy. Looking for reviews on something? Easy.

Browsers are great for these quick, everyday questions.

But when it comes to searching the medical literature to gather everything, when we need to write a detailed review article, it’s a different story. We aren’t just looking for one quick answer anymore. We’re looking for everything on a topic so we can read, analyze, and distill it ourselves into a clear journal article or poster.

That’s where the databases come in.

There is so much new medical literature, and data produced every single day that it’s impossible to keep up with it all on our own. This is why using effective search tools matters. We can use keywords, of course, but we also have something even more powerful: Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH.

MeSH terms act as a controlled vocabulary to help us find everything related to a topic, no matter what words the authors used in their papers. And here’s a helpful tip: you’ll find MeSH terms not only in PubMed but also listed in other databases, helping you link searches across platforms. When used in other databases, they are used as keywords.

So, let’s take a few minutes to learn more about MeSH and how this powerful tool can make your literature searching more precise and efficient.

Here is what the MeSH database looks like inside PubMed.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is a controlled vocabulary thesaurus used by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) to index biomedical literature, primarily for PubMed, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/. It is used for indexing, cataloging, and searching of biomedical and health-related information. MeSH terms are assigned to articles to help users find relevant information even when different words or spellings are used to describe the same concept. Example – myocardial infarction, heart attack, myocardial infarct, and cardiovascular stroke. Or Pediatrics search will bring up articles with Paediatrics in them.

Shows how MeSH can be used - https://www.nlm.n2025ih.gov/oet/ed/pubmed/mesh/mod02/01-200.html

Short training module on MeSH -
https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubmed/mesh/mod01/01-000.html

Here's why using MeSH is beneficial: 

Improved search precision: 

MeSH terms provide a standardized and hierarchical vocabulary, reducing the risk of retrieving irrelevant results due to variations in terminology used by authors. 

Enhanced recall: 

MeSH terms cover synonyms and related concepts, ensuring that articles are retrieved even if they use different words or phrases to describe the same topic. 

Facilitates broader and narrower searches:

MeSH is organized in a hierarchical tree structure, allowing users to start with broad terms and narrow their search as needed or start with narrow terms and broaden their search as they go. 

Increases citation discoverability:

MeSH indexing helps find relevant articles, even if they lack a detailed abstract or use less descriptive keywords. 

Streamlines the search process: 

MeSH terms are pre-defined with synonyms and scope notes, saving users the time and effort of manually searching for different variations of a concept.

For example, a search for "Lung Neoplasms" using the MeSH term will retrieve articles discussing lung cancer, lung tumor, lung neoplasm, and pulmonary cancer, regardless of the specific term used by the author. 

This PubMed search shows lung neoplasms as a keyword search in the advanced search section of PubMed. 

Search: lung neoplasms Sort by: Publication Date

"lung neoplasms"[MeSH Terms] OR ("lung"[All Fields] AND "neoplasms"[All Fields]) OR "lung neoplasms"[All Fields]

Translations

lung neoplasms: "lung neoplasms"[MeSH Terms] OR ("lung"[All Fields] AND "neoplasms"[All Fields]) OR "lung neoplasms"[All Fields]

When you look at the articles retrieved by the search above, you will see keywords such as lung cancer, lung tumor, lung neoplasm, and pulmonary cancer.

Why I use the MeSH database before I start searching:

• It defines subject terms I may not be very familiar with.
• It helps me see where a subject term fits into the tree hierarchy, which is useful if I don’t know much about the topic.
• It provides additional entry terms I can use in PubMed’s keyword box, as well as in other databases that do not recognize MeSH terms directly.
• It can help narrow down a large search quickly.
• If I’m having trouble finding articles, it can help me broaden my search terms by showing where they sit in the hierarchy.

I don’t usually use the MeSH database itself to run my searches, but I use the information I find there to guide and improve my searches.

Helpful Video:

How PubMed Works: MeSH – video produced by Network of the National Library of Medicine

Should you wish for me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or to you individually, please don’t hesitate to reach out. I would be glad to assist.

Happy Searching! 

Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Librarian

This post is a continuation of the scholarly identity post from last month. In that post, I mentioned that employers have been checking social media to see what is posted about or by a prospective employee for years. After I wrote the post, I came across an article about a medical student who behaved unprofessionally, which ultimately cost him his residency at a particular institution. A quote from the article caught my attention: “The temptation remains to make impulsive online communication decisions when anonymity is assumed.”

The article is cited below:

Kaushik R, Sattler M, Bhamidipati V, Statzer H, Vu J, Wolfe AD. To Catch a Catfish: A Cautionary Tale of Internet Unprofessionalism. J Grad Med Educ. 2025 Feb;17(1):20-22. doi: 10.4300/JGME-D-24-00629.1. Epub 2025 Feb 14. PMID: 39980968; PMCID: PMC11838069.

After reading the article, I decided to do some research to see what else is in the literature about medical students and/or residents and social media. I wanted to share this information with you in an annotated bibliography—not that I think any of you are engaging in such behaviors. It’s always good to be knowledgeable about a topic that may affect your life. I also want to clarify that this search was not an all-encompassing literature review.

Most of the articles below can be found in PubMed using their PMID or PMCID.

Annotated Bibliography (Modified):

Lee YM, Lee J, Rhim HC, Park H. A Preliminary Study on Uncovering Medical Students' Unprofessional Behaviors from YouTube Videos. J Korean Med Sci. 2021 Nov 1;36(42):e296. doi: 10.3346/jkms.2021.36.e296. PMID: 34725980; PMCID: PMC8560317.

This is an interesting article on uncovering medical students’ unprofessional behavior in YouTube videos. When we add a YouTube video, how many of us consider the “potential negative impact on the medical profession of easily accessible public online videos”?

The table below is taken from the Lee YM article listed above.

Pronk SA, Gorter SL, van Luijk SJ, Barnhoorn PC, Binkhorst B, van Mook WNKA. Perception of social media behaviour among medical students, residents and medical specialists. Perspect Med Educ. 2021 Aug;10(4):215-221. doi: 10.1007/s40037-021-00660-1. Epub 2021 Apr 7. PMID: 33826108; PMCID: PMC8368941.

Conclusion from the paper above:

“Social media use among medical students, residents, and medical specialists is common. The majority of participants use social media to gather and share information that otherwise would be missed and to keep in contact with others. Among the three groups, medical students spent the most time on social media. Participants acknowledged that inappropriate information was commonly posted on social media, but they were more likely to perceive it as inappropriate when posted by peers and colleagues than by themselves. Addressing colleagues about unprofessional online behavior is most likely to occur when patient privacy and confidentiality are breached. However, the respondents mentioned that this is difficult in practice. Medical educators should thus equip trainees with the skills to provide feedback to address such issues in a constructive manner by using already existing (online) guidelines on professional behavior in the undergraduate and postgraduate medical curriculum.”

Nilsen K, Walling A, Dooley P, Krohn K, Kellerman R, Antoun J. To Post or Not to Post: Does Applicants' Social Media Affect Family Medicine Resident Recruitment? Fam Med. 2021 Oct;53(9):766-772. doi: 10.22454/FamMed.2021.292421. PMID: 34624124.

Great table below from the article cited above showing how many social media sites are checked for applicants. There may be more now, as the article was written in 2021.

Economides JM, Choi YK, Fan KL, Kanuri AP, Song DH. Are We Witnessing a Paradigm Shift?: A Systematic Review of Social Media in Residency. Plast Reconstr Surg Glob Open. 2019 Aug 19;7(8):e2288. doi: 10.1097/GOX.0000000000002288. PMID: 31592016; PMCID: PMC6756642.

This article discusses how residents and program directors use social media to evaluate residents applying to their programs.

Barlow CJ, Morrison S, Stephens HO, Jenkins E, Bailey MJ, Pilcher D. Unprofessional Behaviour on Social Media by Medical Students. Med J Aust. 2015 Dec 14;203(11):439. doi: 10.5694/mja15.00272. PMID: 26654611.

This is an older study about Australian medical students, but I believe it remains highly relevant to today’s medical students. It’s easy to lose judgment when away from school, intoxicated, or when you don't think your social media will be seen by anyone who could harm you professionally.

Garmon EH, Morris KC, McAllister RK. Preserving Medical Professionalism in the Age of Social Media. JCA Advances [Internet]. 2024;1(3):100055. Available from: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2950553424000558.

Quote from the Garmon article: “The increasing frequency of unprofessional behavior on social media platforms makes it more important than ever that faculty mentors uphold medical professionalism and teach trainees how to exercise discernment and good judgment in what will be shared publicly.”

The table below is from the Garmon article cited above.

Murphy, B. How M4s Can Make Social Media an Asset During Residency Applications. American Medical Association. 2022. Available at: https://www.ama-assn.org/medical-students/preparing-residency/how-m4s-can-make-social-media-asset-during-residency (Accessed: 04 April 2025).

Great advice on how to manage your social media during residency applications.

Sterling M, Leung P, Wright D, Bishop TF. The Use of Social Media in Graduate Medical Education: A Systematic Review. Acad Med. 2017 Jul;92(7):1043-1056. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000001617. PMID: 28225466; PMCID: PMC5487290.

Quote from Sterling article: “The effect of social media platforms on residency education, recruitment, and professionalism is mixed, and the quality of existing studies is modest at best.”

Vukušić Rukavina T, Viskić J, Machala Poplašen L, Relić D, Marelić M, Jokic D, Sedak K. Dangers and Benefits of Social Media on E-Professionalism of Health Care Professionals: Scoping Review. J Med Internet Res. 2021 Nov 17;23(11):e25770. doi: 10.2196/25770. PMID: 34662284; PMCID: PMC8663533.

Findings from the reviewed studies indicate the existence of both benefits and dangers of social media (SM) on e-professionalism among health care professionals (HCPs). Even though some barriers are recognized, this review highlights existing recommendations for incorporating e-professionalism into the educational curricula of HCPs. Based on all the evidence provided, this review offers new insights and guidance for future research in this area. There is a clear need for robust research to investigate emerging SM platforms, the effectiveness of guidelines and educational interventions, and the specific needs of each profession regarding their SM potential and use.

University of the Incarnate Word, School of Osteopathic Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine Student Handbook.
Available at: https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/_docs/student-handbook/do-student-handbook-2425.pdf
Social Media Policy, pages 47-49.

While at the SOM, this is the primary resource for information on the social media policy.

American Osteopathic Association’s (AOA) Social Media Guidelines –

https://osteopathic.org/about/leadership/social-media-guidelines/#:~:text=Never%20post%20identifiable%20patient%20information,if%20you%20are%20posting%20anonymously.&text=Use%20strict%20privacy%20settings%20to,sure%20to%20confirm%20settings%20regularly.

AOA’s Code of Ethics -

https://osteopathic.org/about/leadership/aoa-governance-documents/code-of-ethics/

AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs (2019) – Professionalism in the Use of Social Media - https://code-medical-ethics.ama-assn.org/sites/default/files/2022-08/2.3.2%20Professionalism%20in%20the%20use%20of%20social%20media%20--%20background%20reports.pdf

AMA Policy: Professionalism in the Use of Social Media - https://code-medical-ethics.ama-assn.org/sites/default/files/2022-08/2.3.2%20Professionalism%20in%20the%20use%20of%20social%20media%20--%20background%20reports.pdf

The two AMA links above discuss the positive and negative issues physicians and medical students face when becoming involved with social media. This quote caught my attention: “Physicians must recognize that actions online and content posted may negatively affect their reputations among patients and colleagues, may have consequences for their medical careers (particularly for physicians-in-training and medical students), and can undermine public trust in the medical profession.”

Please consider this information as helpful. Make decisions about your own lives as you see fit.
Should you wish for me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or to you individually, please don’t hesitate to reach out. I would be glad to assist.

Happy Searching! 

Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Librarian

Additional Alternative Data sites:

Harvard Law School's library has preserved federal websites in a digital archive so that the information can still be available to researchers. 
      Data Vault Project -  aims to preserve and authenticate vital public government datasets by archiving data from sources like data.gov, federal GitHub repositories, and PubMed, making them accessible for research, policymaking, and public use. 

Data Rescue Project - The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. You can read more about our efforts on our Resources about the Data Rescue Project page.
       Data Rescue Tracker - is a collaborative tool built to catalog existing public data rescue efforts so that we can coordinate better across initiatives. At this stage, you can use the tool to help reduce duplication of rescue efforts. The Data Rescue Tracker aims to provide a consolidated overview of who is backing up which dataset from which government websites.
      Resources - There are many individuals, organizations, and community-based resources that document and assist with rescuing efforts. Below is the list of tools, data sources, library guides, and articles we are aware of and their associated scopes.
               Checklists for Data Rescue
             Tools for Data Rescue
             Existing Alternative Data Sources
                              - Economic Indicators
                              - Public Health 
              Library Guides to Data Rescue

In this post, I will discuss Scholarly Identity and ORCID ID.

Almost everyone has an identity online, but it's even more pronounced now that we have social media. Our identity can be positive or negative, depending on what we have shared about ourselves or what others have shared about us. As professionals, you will want to control that identity as much as possible. Your professional life may depend on it. For the past 15-20 years, employers have been checking social media to see what is posted about a prospective employee. They even check your credit and driving history. If you haven’t started taking control of the information out there about you, please start now. You don’t want to be turned down for your first-choice position because something negative is out there about you.

A definition of scholarly identity encompasses an individual's presence, reputation, and the way they are perceived within the academic world, shaped by their training, research interests, expertise, publications, and online presence.

Whether you are publishing to improve your CV for residency or for the love of research and publishing, an ORCID ID will help you.

A little story from my past: When I worked at Texas Biomedical Research Institute, the library kept track of everyone’s publications. Occasionally, we would get a PI (Principal Investigator) whose name was the same as another researcher at a different institution. This time, the name was the same, down to the middle name. Next, we would look at where they worked and what they were researching. Unfortunately, our new PI and the other person had worked in the same places, researching the same thing. We had to sit down with them, and they would pick out which citations were theirs. If that PI would have had an ORCID ID, all we would have needed was that ID. But that’s only if they had attached the ID to every citation they were a part of by adding the citations to their ORCID ID profile. So, you can see, the sooner you have an ORCID ID, the better. Attach it to your articles when you publish, your letters to the editor, your CV, and even your email signature.

What is ORCID ID?

https://orcid.org/

From the ORCiD site: “ORCiD, which stands for Open Researcher and Contributor ID, is a free, unique, persistent identifier (PID) for individuals to use as they engage in research, scholarship, and innovation activities. We provide ORCiD to researchers free of charge so that we may realize our vision of connecting all those who participate in research, scholarship, and innovation, ensuring they are uniquely identified and connected to their contributions across disciplines, borders, and time”. 

You create a profile on the ORCID website, linking your research activities, publications, grants, and other professional information.

It is very easy to sign up for an ORCID ID—it only takes a few minutes. There are over 16 million people listed on the ORCID site, spanning over 55 countries. You can enter information about Employment, Education and Qualifications, Professional Activities, Funding, and Works.

This is NOT sponsored or purchased by SOM, UIW Libraries or UIW. You can use whatever email and password you want.

I signed up for one, so you can see what it looks like.

PROS:

Author Disambiguation: 

ORCID IDs help distinguish researchers with common names, ensuring proper attribution of their work. 

Improved Discoverability: 

ORCID profiles can increase the visibility of research outputs, making it easier for others to find and connect with a researcher's work.

Lifelong Identifier: 

ORCID IDs are designed to remain consistent throughout a researcher's career, even if their name changes, or they move institutions.

Comprehensive Record: 

Researchers can use their ORCID profile to create a comprehensive list of their publications, datasets, and other research activities in one place. 

Integration with Other Systems: 

ORCID integrates with various platforms and databases, allowing for automatic updates and linking of research outputs.

Free and Easy to Use: 

ORCID is free for individuals to register and use, and the process is relatively straightforward. 

Control over Data: 

Researchers have control over the visibility and accessibility of their ORCID profile, choosing what information to share and with whom. 

CONS:

Interface Not User-Friendly: 

Some researchers find the ORCID interface to be not very user-friendly. 

Effort Required for Maintenance: 

Researchers need to actively maintain their ORCID profile by adding and updating information, which can be time-consuming. 

Not Always Required: 

While some publishers and funding agencies require ORCID IDs, not all do, so the benefits may not be universally applicable.

Potential for Data Privacy Concerns: 

Some researchers may have concerns about sharing their research data publicly, even with the privacy controls in place. 

May Not Be the Primary Search Method: 

Searches for a scholar's name or publication title on a search engine like Google may not display ORCID results prominently.

Fees for Institutions: 

While free for individuals, institutions may incur costs for ORCID membership. 

Below are an article and a chapter that provide more information on this topic:

Aguilar, S. J. (2018, July 26). Shaping a scholarly identity that helps you do what you want in academe (opinion). Inside Higher Ed | Higher Education News, Events and Jobs. https://www.insidehighered.com/advice/2018/07/26/shaping-scholarly-identity-helps-you-do-what-you-want-academe-opinion

Buljung, B. (2022, July 1). Scholarly identity. In Buljung, B., Bongiovanni, E., & Li, Y. (Eds.) Navigating the research lifecycle for the modern researcher. Pressbooks. https://pressbooks.pub/researchlifecycle/chapter/chapter-x-scholarly-identity/

Should you wish for me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or to you individually, please don't
hesitate to reach out. I would be glad to assist.  

Happy Searching! 

Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Librarian

Finding alternative data websites for missing data.

Federal government websites have made changes to comply with the President's orders, effective January 31, 2025. Some data that you may have accessed previously may no longer be available. Due to federal funding, some state and local government websites may also have undergone changes.

You may see this banner or something similar across some of the government websites you visit.

Because many websites are being modified, it started me thinking about alternative places to find data you may have used or searched for in the past. I’m fortunate to have a network of librarians, including myself, who are exploring other avenues.

This is the link to the Data Sets tab currently on Medical Library homepage - https://libguides.uiwtx.edu/c.php?g=1323635&p=10788884

Here are some suggestions of non-government data alternatives (where you may locate the missing data):

Internet Archive Wayback Machine – I used terms like 'government,' 'health,' and 'data' in the  search box. If you have a specific website in mind, I recommend using the URL.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ); PSNET (Patient Safety Network) – Has toolkits and measurement tools.

Harvard Dataverse – Has COVID-19 Data Collection and Medicine, Health and Life Sciences datasets.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research – Find Data - Acts as a central repository for large-scale social science datasets. 

Kaggle Datasets – A popular platform for data science where users can find and share datasets, including many from government sources. 

Pew Research Center – Pew is a nonprofit organization that covers research topics that include Demographics & Politics, Political issues, Immigration and Migration, Race & Ethnicity, Religion, Gender & LGBTQ, and more. It also offers resources such         as Dataset Downloads, Survey Question Search, and the National Public Opinion Reference Survey.

UCLA Williams Institute - Data Collection
The Williams Institute produces research on several issues, including COVID-19, Demographics, Discrimination and Violence, Education, Economics and Poverty, Health and HIV/AIDS, Relationships and Parenting, and more. The Institute also provides data for key sub-populations, including older adults, people of color, same-sex couples, transgender people, and youth.

There is an article, along with three other external library (non UIW) websites, that you may find useful. 

The Journalist’s Resource: Article below has many helpful websites and archives.

Miller, N. S. (2025, February 3). As the US government removes health websites and data, here’s a list of nongovernment data alternatives and archives. Journalist’s Resource. https://journalistsresource.org/home/as-the-us-government-removes-health-websites-and-data-heres-a-list-of-non-government-data-alternatives/ (Downloaded February 10, 2025) 

American University, University Library – Government Information Data Rescue: 
The website contains many links to trusted repositories that have preserved U.S. government data. It also features Data Rescue Activist Tools.

Butler University Libraries – Alternative Sources for Archived Government Data:
The website includes a few new links of Government Health Information and Climate and Environmental Data Repositories that were not previously mentioned.

University of Minnesota Libraries – Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition:
The website includes additional information on Data & Website Rescue Efforts, Existing Alternative Data Sources, and Tools for Data Rescues.

If you would like to read the Executive Orders yourself, you can find them here:
https://www.federalregister.gov/presidential-documents/executive-orders/donald-trump/2025

As I come across additional websites, I will update this post.

If you’re having trouble finding what you’re looking for, please contact Dawn Field, SOM Librarian, and I’ll do my best to locate it for you.

If you’d like me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or individually, please don’t hesitate to reach out. I’d be happy to assist.

Happy Searching! 
Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Librarian

It has come to my attention that some may not know about the free software that UIW Office of Teaching, Learning, & Technology provides.  For those conducting statistical analysis, SPSS is available for data analysis. Additionally, a wide range of other programs are accessible. Whether you are a student, staff member, or faculty, I encourage you to explore these valuable resources.

For Students - https://my.uiw.edu/tlt/available-software1/available-software-for-students.html

For Faculty and Staff - https://my.uiw.edu/tlt/available-software1/available-software-for-faculty-and-staff.html

Let's have some fun and name the Research Sidekick. Please send me suggestions. The picture is of a whimsical skeleton dressed as a doctor or researcher. Add your suggestion, your name and UIW email to the comments. I would like a first name and last name for our sidekick.

Thanks to all that participated. 
Winners:
1st place - Dr. Skully Spinewick by Phoebe Lay/Dr. Julie La Barba 
2nd place - Dr. Tibia Turner by Anna Ranabijuli
3rd place - Dr. Skelly Scholar by Amethyst Garcia 

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension paid by UIW LIbraries that provides quicker access to articles from your Library resources.

            Benefits:

• One-click access – access full-text articles quickly from the library subscriptions, open access articles, or publisher free content.
• Remote access to resources – access resources even when not connected to the library network.
• Works with major browsers including Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.
• Fully integrated in PubMed, Google Scholar, and Web of Science.

• Utilizes Retraction Watch to alert searchers of retracted status before an article is viewed.

  ---

  Guided Installation on Chrome and Firefox document.

  How to insert LibKey Nomad Browser Extension into Safari. (video) Only available through computer

  What LibKey Nomad looks like in PubMed. (slide)

  Retraction Watch example in PubMed. (slide)

  LibKey Nomad Browser Extension (Instructions on how to download)

  ---

Should you wish for me to present this topic, or any other, to your group or to you individually, please don't hesitate to reach out. I would be glad to assist.  

Happy Searching! 

Dawn Field, Your UIWSOM Librarian

Welcome to “The Research Sidekick”, the School of Osteopathic Medicine Library Blog. At least once a month, you will have a new post with topics concerning research whether you are faculty, staff, and/or students. I will post some useful tips that will assist you, but I would like to know what you want to see here. It can be for class research, faculty publications or everything in between. What do you find difficult or confusing about research? Please post your ideas or thoughts in the comment section.

Be sure to subscribe if you want to see what comes out next.

Look forward to working with you all,
Dawn Field, MSIS, AHIP
Medical Informatics Librarian

All logos and pictures were made by using AI, Google Gemini website. - https://gemini.google.com/app.